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BD# 31 Jiun-Ming Chen 
VUL N/S ♠ Q 9 4 2 
DLR South ♥ K 8 6 5 

♦ A 7 5 2  

 

♣ 9 
Ton Bakkeren Huub Bertens 

♠ K 8 ♠ A J 7 6 
♥ J T 7 2 ♥ Q 
♦ Q J 9 4 3 ♦ K T 8 6 
♣ Q 3 
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♣ J T 6 4 
Albert Hsiao 

♠ T 5 3 
♥ A 9 4 3 
♦  
♣ A K 8 7 5 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♦ by West 

   1♣ Opening Lead ♣9 
1♦ Dbl 2♣ 3♣ Table Result Down 1, E/W -50 

Pass Pass 3♦1 Pass Director Ruling 3♦ W down 1, E/W -50 
Pass Pass   

 

Committee Ruling 3♦ W down 1, E/W -50 
 
(1) Before this call, East asked the meaning of North’s double and was told it denied 

four-card major(s). 
 



 
The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand. South had mis-explained 
North’s double. The mis-explanation could have been the result of a language problem. 
West discovered at trick two that North had at most five cards in the minors (eight or 
more in the majors). East claimed that he would pass over 3♣ with the correct 
explanation.   
 
The play of the hand was as follows.   
1. Club lead to the king.   
2. Ace of clubs (heart discarded by N).   
3. Low club, ruffed high, with a heart discarded by North.   
4. Low heart to South's ace.   
5. Club ruffed high, with North discarding a spade.   
6. Diamond to the king, winning, South discarding a club.   
7. Spade to the king.   
8. Spade to the Queen and ace.   
9. Spade ruffed high. 
 
 
The Ruling: The director judged that the misinformation did not cause damage in the 
play. Declarer needs to play three rounds of spades starting at trick four to be able to 
score a small trump in hand. E/W should have asked to see the convention cards. 
In accordance with Law 40C,  the table result of 3♦ by West down one, E/W minus 50 
was allowed to stand. 
 
The Appeal: South was the only player not attending the hearing. East argued that he 
could be almost certain that the opponents had missed an eight-card heart fit, and that 
with correct information, he would pass out 3♣ (or possibly even double), reading his 
partner for a doubleton club. 
Additionally, after North showed out on the second round of clubs, West asked South 
about the double, and South confirmed that it was a negative double, denying as many as 
four cards in either major.  West knew that North's hand did not conform to South's 
description, but thought that the double might have been a transfer, showing five or more 
hearts.  With correct information, declarer would not have led a diamond at trick seven, 
leaving himself better placed to make his contract. 
South suggested that West had simply mis-guessed the play, and the incorrect 
information was not material.  N/S did not play transfers over suit bids. 
The committee discovered that the N/S convention card described North's double as 
negative. 



 
The Decision: The committee did not think that the misinformation had an impact on 
East's bidding decision.  East had stronger diamonds than clubs, and he knew that his side 
had at least a nine-card diamond fit.  Additionally, the singleton heart figured to be more 
of an offensive rather than a defensive asset. 
As to the play, West would have been better placed to trust the N/S convention card and 
place North with 4-4 in the majors.  Had North turned up with five hearts and three 
spades, and the double been a conventional transfer, he would likely have a better chance 
to receive redress. 
More importantly, in the play, declarer had reached a four-card end position with the lead 
in the East hand.  North was known to have A75 of diamonds and one major suit card.  
The actual cards were: 
   ♠  9 
   ♥ 
   ♦  A 7 5 
   ♣ 
 
♠       ♠  J 7 
♥  T x      ♥ 
♦  9 3      ♦  T 8 
♣      ♣ 
   

♠  T 
♥  9 x 
♦  
♣  x 

  
If North's remaining major suit card is a heart, declarer will make his contract whether he 
ruffs a spade low OR high. If North's remaining major suit card is a spade, declarer must 
ruff low, so ruffing low would have guaranteed nine tricks. 
Since it was obvious to West that South was confused about the meaning of North's 
double, the committee was not inclined to offer redress.  Moreover, West had an 
opportunity to make his contract by making a play in a simple end position that could 
never lose a trick.  The committee ruled that any damage suffered by E/W was a result of 
its own misjudgments and not misinformation.  Since the misinformation that South gave 
did not materially affect the result, the table result of 3♦ by West down one, E/W minus 
50 was allowed to stand for both sides. 
 
 
The Committee: Doug Doub (Chair), Tom Carmichael, Blair Seidler, Patty Tucker and 
Michael White. 
 


