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BD# 12 Marinesa Letizia 
VUL N/S ♠ K Q 7 
DLR West ♥ 9 7 

♦ K T 8 6 4 3  

 

♣ 8 3 
Jill Myers Jill Levin 

♠ A J 8 6 ♠ 5 4 3 
♥ Q J 5 4 ♥ A K 8 6 
♦ J 9 7 2 ♦ 5 
♣ J 

 
 

Spring 2009 
Houston, TX 

♣ K Q 6 4 2 
Mildred Breed 

♠ T 9 2 
♥ T 3 2 
♦ A Q 
♣ A T 9 7 5 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♥ by West 
Pass Pass 1♣ Pass Opening Lead ♠K 
1♥ Pass 3♥ Pass Table Result Made 4, E/W +420 
4♥ Pass Pass Pass Director Ruling 4♥ W made 4, E/W +420, E/W-1VP PP 

    

 

Committee Ruling 4♥ W down 1, E/W – 50, No PP 
 
 
The Facts: The director was called at the end of the hand. North led the spade king, 
dummy played the three and South the deuce. At this point West asked if N/S played 
upside down. She was told that N/S played suit preference at trick one if possible. West 
had declared the previous board in a suit contract and had asked for and received a full 
explanation at that time. North continued spades when West ducked. 
 
The Ruling: N/S requested an adjustment under Law 73F.  
After polling a number of players, three switched to a club or a trump at trick two. The 
player polled who continued spades said the question was not material. Therefore, the 
table result of 4♥ by West making four, E/W plus 420 was allowed to stand. E/W was 
assessed a procedural penalty (PP) of one victory point for a badly worded question. 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. All four players attended the hearing.  
N/S stated that without the question posed by West, it was likely that North would have 
switched to a diamond at trick two. 
West stated that she always asks for carding when she is declaring even if she has asked 
on a previous hand. East stated that she thought this was the case and confirmed that 
West habitually asked when she was the declarer – even when she had declared 
previously against the same pair. 
All four players stated that the question, “Do you play upside down?” was asked after or 
as South followed to the first trick with the two. N/S were positive of this; West thought 
so and East wasn’t sure if it was as the two was played or just after.  
 
The Decision: The committee found that Law 73F was applicable. It states that: “…..if 
the Director determines that an innocent player has drawn a false inference from a 
remark, manner, tempo or the like of an opponent who has no demonstrable bridge reason 
for the action...”  
The committee felt this applied because of the form and timing of the question – i.e. 
asking “Do you play upside down?” rather than “What’s your carding?” and waiting to 
ask until RHO had played to the opening lead rather than asking when the opening lead 
was made. 
Law 73F continues, “and who could have known at the time of the action, that the action 
could work to his benefit…” the director should award an adjusted score. The committee 
felt that West could have known that the question could work to her benefit. Therefore, 
the committee adjusted the result to 4♥ by West down one, E/W minus 50 to both sides 
since a shift to any other suit at trick two would defeat the contract. 
The committee stressed that its decision in no way reflects on the ethics or conduct of 
West. 
The committee removed the procedural penalty. 
The appeal was judged to have merit. 
 
The Committee: James Thurtell (Chair), Tom Carmichael, Ed Lazarus, Chris Moll and 
Patty Tucker. 


