
APPEAL NON-NABC+ SEVEN 
Subject: Unauthorized Information (UI)            
DIC: Matt Smith 
Event: North American Open Pairs – Flight B 
Session: First Qualifying, April 8, 2006 
 
  (700 MPs) 
Board #12 ♠ T 5 
Vul: N/S ♥ A Q T 7 6 3 
Dlr: West ♦ 7 4 
  ♣ 8 5 4 
 
 (235 MPs)  (875 MPs) 
 ♠ K J 8 6 3   ♠ Q 2  
 ♥ 9 8 2   ♥ J 4 
 ♦ J 2   ♦ K Q 8 5 3 
 ♣ K 9 2  ♣ J 7 6 3 
 
  (1100 MPs) 
  ♠ A 9 7 4 
  ♥ K 5 
  ♦ A T 9 6 
  ♣ A Q T 
 
 West North East South 
 Pass Pass 2♦ 2NT 
 Pass 3♥1 Pass 3♠ 
 Pass 4♥ All Pass  
  

(1) Announced as a transfer. 
 

The Facts: South thought 3♥ was a transfer to spades. North thought 3♥ was natural. 
E/W believed that North flinched when “transfer” was Announced. N/S do not have an 
agreement whether system is on in this auction.  After the opening lead of the ♦K, the 
table result was 4♥ making four, N/S +620. 
 
The Ruling: It was judged that South had UI, which suggested that North held hearts and 
not spades. The UI demonstrably suggested a pass of 4♥ over a less successful logical 
alternative of 4♠. It was also judged that after a 4♠ bid by South, North would know 
(without any UI) that the auction was off track. Therefore, a bid of 5♥ by North would be 
allowed. In accordance with laws 16A and 12C2, the table result was adjusted to 5♥ 
down one, N/S -100. 



The Appeal: N/S stated that they had played as regular partners about 20 years ago and 
in the last 6 months had begun playing again and were updating their system. North said 
they had not agreed to play transfers (Texas or Jacoby) in this auction, even though they 
play them in other auctions such as over 1NT and 2NT openings and 1NT overcalls. They 
do have agreements on bidding a 5-5 after a 2N overcall. North said adamantly that his 
understanding was that his 3♥ bid was natural. South Announced a transfer, reacted 
quickly and changed his statement; but, away from the table told the director that his 
understanding was that they play transfers. 
West was certain that North had flinched and that was the cause of South’s change of 
explanation. 
 
The Decision: The panel decided that South had UI from the flinch and that North had 
UI from South’s explanation. 
None of the three players (two players with similar MP holdings and one expert) 
consulted passed 4♥. Each took a preference to 4♠ or made a move toward slam treating 
the 4♥ bid as a cuebid when it was presented that 4♦ would show 5-5 in the majors. 
However, the panel judged that, after a preference to 4♠ by South, North would be 
permitted to bid 5♥ because a bid of 3♠ followed by 4♠ could not describe a hand with 
which South would overcall 2N. North would expect that with a very good hand and a 5 
or 6 card spade suit that South would have started with an overcall or a double. Since 
South’s 2N bid promised 2 hearts, hearts would provide a much better strain in which to 
play (rather than a possible weak 5-2 spade fit). The panel upheld the director’s 
adjustment of the table result (5♥ down one, N/S -100). 
The panel decided the appeal did not have merit and issued an AWMW.  
 
The Panel: Harry Falk (Reviewer), Patty Holmes, Candy Kuschner and Peter Marcus. 
 
Players consulted: Two peers with similar masterpoint holdings and Zeke Jabbour. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Gerard Which consultant made a move toward slam?  If one of the peers, then not 

just a move but a force toward slam is a logical alternative.  Maybe it 
should be anyway since North showed 6-4 in the majors or something like 
Kxxxxx, Axx, x, Kxx, but if the peers couldn't appreciate the value of their 
hand I guess we have to let them bid 4♠.  Then 5♥ down one was correct 
but South should have received a procedural penalty (PP) for blatant 
misuse of unauthorized information.  If a move (force) toward slam was a 
logical alternative (LA), N/S can't get out for less than -800 (South bids 
4NT, North bids 5♦, South bids 6♠ and after the doubling ends North is 
down three in 7♥).  Here too, South should receive a PP for blatant misuse 
of UI. The panel spent too much time on the obvious decision to allow 5♥ 
and not enough on whether to force a slam move and the propriety of 
South's pass of 4♥. 

 
 



Polisner North’s auction should be interpreted as 5-5 or 6-5 in the majors.  The 
case boils down to whether the Directors/Panel believed that there was a 
flinch or some other UI transmitted by North to South.  Otherwise South is 
entitled to pass 4♥ even though it would be counter-intuitive and would 
seem to support a UI contention.  This case would be much more difficult 
if South was 2-4 in the majors rather than 4-2 as a cue bid by a passed 
hand is a rarity so it would be reasonable to pass 4♥ believing that North 
had forgotten their convention.  But here, the ruling and decision, 
including the AWMW, were correct. 

 
Rigal Allowing South to pass 5♥ is perhaps just a little generous to the 

offenders. But the panel more than made up for that by the AWMW. Well 
done. 

 
Wildavsky Good work by the tournament director and the Panel. While it likely made 

little difference to the matchpoint result, I don't understand how N/S were 
able to get away with minus 50. Per their testimony 4♥ could not show 5-5 
in the Majors so it must have been a slam try. With a prime maximum, 
South would either have tried Key Card Blackwood or just jumped to 6♠. 
Over 4NT North would try to show his hearts one more time and South 
would jump to 6♠ over the 5♥ "response." Now the best N/S can do is 6N 
down three or 7♥ down three. In any case, I agree that the appeal had no 
merit. 

 
Wolff The decision was a good one in spite of how hard convention disruption is 

to adjudicate properly. 
 

 


