
APPEAL NON-NABC+ FIVE 
Subject: Revoke (Alleged after the round)) 
DIC: Doug Grove 
Event: Red Ribbon Pairs 
Session: Second Qualifying, April 6, 2006      
 
  (222 MPs)  
Board # 18 ♠ 8 3 
Vul: N/S ♥ Q 7 5 2 
Dlr: East ♦ A Q T 4 3 
  ♣ J 8 
 
 (855 MPs)   (550 MPs) 
 ♠ 6 2   ♠ A K Q T 9 4 
 ♥ A T 6  ♥ J 4 3 
 ♦ K J 9 5 2  ♦ 7 6  
 ♣ K T 6  ♣ 7 3 
 
  (250 MPs)  
  ♠ J 7 5 
  ♥ K 9 8 
  ♦ 8 
  ♣ A Q 9 5 4 2 
 
 West North East South 
   1♠ Pass 
 1NT1 Pass 2♠ Pass 
 3♠ Pass 3NT All Pass 
 
(1) Forcing  
 
The Facts: A director was not called to the table. The table result was 3NT down one, 
N/S plus 50 after an opening lead of a small diamond. The director was approached after 
the game with the allegation that South had not followed suit at trick one.  The declarer, 
who led the ten of spades to trick 2, stated he did so because, if the diamonds were 6-0, 
the spades may break badly. He wanted to insure five spade tricks.  At trick 3, South led a 
club, which gave declarer his 8th trick.  
N/S did not respond to a post-session page but were found the morning of the first final 
session on Friday. N/S did not have a good recollection of the play. South believe she 
followed suit but was unable to offer any proof.   
 
The Ruling:  Given the timing of the discussions with each pair, the facts are in dispute 
(law 85). It was decided that there was not sufficient proof of a revoke to adjust the 
scores. In accordance with law 64 C (restoration of equity), had sufficient evidence of a 
revoke been presented to convince the director that a revoke had occurred, there would 
have been an adjustment to equity of 3NT making three, N/S minus 400. 



 
The Appeal: West, Declarer, said that he never would have played the ten of spades at 
trick two had there been no revoke. He was asked for his assessment of his contract. He 
said he did not give it much thought. When asked if he thought he had to get a plus score 
to get any matchpoints, he said a plus is always better than a minus. He hoped to be able 
to endplay North twice to compensate for the spade trick he may be giving up.  
 
The Decision: After an incorrect N/S pair was interviewed, the correct opponent was 
found. The correct South readily acknowledged her revoke. Law 64 B 5 states, “The 
penalty for an established revoke does not apply if attention was first drawn to the revoke 
after the round has ended.”  Law 64 C requires the director to restore equity from either a 
revoke for which there is no penalty or when the penalty for a revoke does not 
sufficiently compensate the non-offending side.  
The panel, having discovered that there was a revoke, was required to determine equity, 
since the revoke did not cause any damage directly. 
With the knowledge that South was void in diamonds, not one of the four players 
consulted took the safety play. All felt it would be nearly impossible to take nine tricks 
without the spade suit providing six tricks. Based upon peer advice, the panel decided 
that the play to trick two had no causal connection to the revoke and, therefore, to any 
damage from the revoke. 
The table result of 3NT down one, N/S +50 was allowed to stand. The appeal was 
deemed to have merit as the panel changed the basis for the decision. 
 
The Panel: Charlie MacCracken (Reviewer), Harry Falk and Bernie Gorkin. 
 
Players consulted: Four players with maasterpoint holdings similar to West’s. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Gerard Duh, declarer led the ten of spades to trick two, how was there not a 

revoke? 
 
Polisner I disagree.  Declarer was placed in a situation no other declarer was in and 

chose what might be considered an inferior, but not egregious play.  
Remember, this was matchpoints and even down two may tie or beat the 
pairs in 4♠.  If spades are 4-1 offside, this declarer would likely be four 
down thus making the safety play reasonable.  As such, equity would give 
E/W + 400. 



 
Rigal Given the messy facts, and the problem establishing them, I like the 

panel’s decision. The causal link between the revoke and the line of play 
followed is so slim that they came to a correct result – and indeed no 
AWMW is appropriate. 

 
Wildavsky The poll is not necessary to determine a causal connection between the 

revoke and the line chosen. It ought to be clear to everyone, as it was to 
the declarer, that 6-0 diamonds make 3-3 spades much less likely than 
they were a priori, and therefore that the ♠J is much less likely to drop. 
Did declarer give the hand best play? That's not relevant – he took a line 
that he never would have taken if not for the revoke, and that line was 
made more attractive by what was in effect misinformation. 
How many tricks were likely had there been no revoke? Nine. Is there any 
other number of tricks that declarer would score often? No. So adjust to 
EW +400, as the tournament director said he would have had he had the 
evidence available to the panel. 



 
Wolff If South really did revoke (and, according to the facts related, there is little 

doubt that she did), some serious thought might go to overriding the stated 
law.  It seems the main reason for the revoke law and its time limit is to 
make sure there was a revoke and since too often (after some time) the 
cards get mixed, it is too hard to prove anything (especially with 
inexperienced players). 
In this particular case, any player who safety plays the hand for down one 
when there is an easy make available, probably does not deserve revoke 
protection and certainly not special consideration. 
This case however can serve as a segue into a recent BIT case and reminds 
me of Edgar's rulebook which states, in effect "there must be an 
unmistakable hesitation...." before a hesitation can be ruled, although we 
all know there are many other ways to convey UI.  
The committee in determining the infamous Segal & Kay-Wolff case used 
Edgar's quote against the appellants since Kay-Wolff claimed there was a 
hesitation and a gesture by her left hand opponent after her one spade 
opening bid.  Segal (her partner) was writing out the score slips and 
testified that she was not paying attention and didn't see or hear anything.  
The two opponents denied any gesture or hesitation.  The table director, 
when called and without looking at the opponents’ hands, said that since 
the count was two to one against any untoward disruption, he is ruling 
there was no BIT.  The committee backed the director's decision, in spite 
of what many later expert panelists thought was overwhelming evidence 
within the opponents' hands that suggested that some improper behavior 
must have occurred. 
The committee, in addition to finding in favor of the opponents, also gave 
the appellants an AWMW warning which is issued when the appellants do 
not produce any new evidence at the hearing.  While the committee 
probably had the right to rule against the appellants, it seems totally in 
contradiction, not to mention illegal, for them to also penalize them with 
an AWMW. 
Trying to sum up, bridge laws as well as tournament directors and ACs 
must include some common sense otherwise the process will, at times, 
resemble Moses and his flock roaming around in the desert, rather than 
making straight-on significant progress in developing our bridge 
jurisprudence in a consistent way. 


