
APPEAL NON-NABC+ ONE 
Subject: Misinformation (MI) and Unauthorized Information (UI) 
DIC: Harry Falk 
Event: Educational Foundation Pairs 
Session: Thursday Evening, March 30, 2006 
 
  (6040 MPs) 
Board # 27 ♠ J 9 4   
Vul: None ♥ 8 7 5 3 
Dlr: S  ♦ 5 3 2 
  ♣ 7 5 3 
 
 (3192 MPs)  (3726 MPs)  
 ♠ T   ♠ K 8 6 3 2  
 ♥ J T 9 6 2  ♥ K Q  
 ♦ A Q T 8 7  ♦ J 9 4  
 ♣ T 2   ♣ K J 8 
 
  (11171 MPs)  
  ♠ A Q 7 5 
  ♥ A 4 
  ♦ K 6 
  ♣ A Q 9 6 4 
 
 West North East South 
    1♣1 

 2♠2 Pass 3♠ 3NT 
 All Pass 
  

(1) Strong Club. 
(2) Not Alerted.  

 
The Facts: Upon arriving at the table and finding that the opponent played a strong club, 
E/W agreed to play ‘Suction.’  South asked about the meaning of the 2♠ bid at his second 
turn to call. East responded that it was spades. South inquired again as to whether the 2♠ 
call was ‘Suction.’ East said it was natural.  After the opening lead of the ♥J, the contact 
failed by five tricks (down five, N/S -250).  
 
The Ruling:  While there was misinformation, there is insufficient connection between 
the infraction and the damage to adjust the score. South could have been aware that there 
was a potential misunderstanding and chose not to clarify the situation. This severed the 
link between the infraction and the damage. The table result was allowed to stand. See 
law 40 C and the ACBL Alert Pamphlet. 



  
The Appeal:  While they were aware that there was an appeal, E/W chose not to appear. 
Both North and South attended. South believed that East should not have been as 
assertive about the meaning of the 2♠ call. After the play, East acknowledged that he 
wasn’t 100% positive that his partner’s call was natural. South said that he would not 
have bid 3NT with that information. South said his hand was worth a 2NT opening bid in 
‘Standard’ because of the 5-card club suit. Because it was a hard hand to reopen, he 
played his partner for 4 HCP. South said his partner’s first Pass could have been made 
with a hand of 8 HCP because of the level of the interference. He was expecting a spade 
lead and his hand was too good to Pass.  
 
The Decision:  The panel found that there was misinformation (law 21 B 3). East wasn’t 
aware that West played that both the one and two level were ‘Suction’ depending upon 
shape. The panel believed that East could and should have stated that a two-level call was 
undiscussed. In a poll taken of three expert players who had the same misinformation that 
South had, all three chose to Pass. Since even with the best scenario (that E/W held 
spades), no expert bid. The panel deemed that there was no connection between the MI 
and the 3NT bid. The panel decided that 40 C did not apply. 
 
Another poll was taken about the opening lead from West. The experts polled were given 
the information that the 2♠ call was Alerted and explained as clubs or the red suits. Since 
two of the three experts consulted led a spade, the panel was convinced that without the 
UI, West may have led a spade. The panel considered a spade lead a logical alternative 
and that a non-spade lead was demonstrably suggested by the UI (i.e. the non-Alert and 
explanation). 
  
The panel adjusted the result to 3NT down two, N/S minus 100. 
  
The Panel:  Patty Holmes (Reviewer), Su Doe, Gary Zeiger 
 
Players consulted:  On Bidding: Bruce Ferguson, Fred Hamilton, Haig Tchamitch 
     On Lead: Jim Kirkham, Drew Casen, Tarek Sadek 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner Not an easy case, but reasonably decided by the Director and improved 

upon by the Panel. 
 
Rigal The panel reasonably decided that South’s decision to bid 3NT earned him 

his bad result. The point about the lead is an obscure one, though possibly 
valid; nothing would stop me from leading a heart, I admit! 



 
Wildavsky I do not understand what more the tournament director (TD) expected the 

South player to do. South asked about the call, got a suspicious answer, 
and asked again. There's only so much that's possible before clarification 
becomes badgering. That said, I agree with the panel that there was no 
causal connection between the MI and the damage. 
The Panel improved upon the TD's ruling by considering the UI aspect of 
the case – the TD should not have missed it. In fact I'd have issued a 
procedural penalty for that ♠T lead, which surely constituted blatant use of 
UI. 

   
Wolff Non bridge caused by convention disruption infested "lesser players".  

Keeping in mind that since it is as close to impossible as anything in 
bridge to determine a fair judgment this committee did a credible job, but, 
so what? 

 


