
 
APPEAL CASE NABC+ NINE                            
Subject: Unauthorized Information (UI)  
DIC: Henry Cukoff 
Event: National IMP Pairs 
Session: 2nd Qualifying, April 6, 2006 
 
   Carole Grob 
Board #2  ♠ 9 6 5 2 
Vul: N-S  ♥ A J 7 4 
Dlr: East  ♦ 6 
   ♣ J 9 6 4 
 

Buddy Hanby  Sally Wheeler 
 ♠ K T 7 4 3  ♠ J 8 
 ♥ T 8 3   ♥ K Q 9 
 ♦ Q T 9  ♦ K J 7 5 2 
 ♣ T 2   ♣ K 7 3 
 
   Geoff Mallette 
   ♠ A Q 
   ♥ 6 5 2 
   ♦ A 8 4 3 
   ♣ A Q 8 5 
 
 West North East South 
   1NT1 Dbl2 

 2♠ Pass Pass Dbl 
 All Pass 
 

(1) Announced as 12-14. 
(2) Opening hand plus. 

 
The Facts: 1NT was announced as 12-14 HCP. North took considerable time to sort her 
hand (about 20 seconds) before looking up and seeing that there were three bidding cards 
already on the table. Thereupon she volunteered that the first double showed an opening 
hand or better (bids show less than an opening hand). Then she asked whether the 2♠ bid 
was natural. Then she took about ten more seconds before she passed. South’s second 
double was for takeout. 2♠ failed by three tricks, +500 N-S. North and South each have 
between 2,000 and 4,000 masterpoints.  
 
The Ruling: North’s question about the naturalness of the unAlerted 2♠ bid showed that 
she had enough values to consider bidding. The questions and the tempo constituted UI. 
The UI demonstrably suggested South’s second double over a less successful logical 
alternative of pass. In accordance with laws 16 and 12C2, the director adjusted the table 
result to 2♠ down three, undoubled, N/S +150.  



 
The Appeal: N/S candidly admitted the facts and acknowledged that Law 16 was 
applicable to this case. They believed, though, that there was no logical alternative to the 
second double. West contended that the South hand had not grown very substantially: the 
♠Q was less likely to be well positioned, there were no good “spot cards” in the South 
hand, and South’s hearts (the suit North is most likely to stretch to bid) are shorter than 
his other offered suits. Also, the heart suit is honorless.  
 
The Decision: The Committee found that there were both a hesitation and a question 
prior to North’s pass, and that they suggested that North might have some interest in 
entering the auction. North even testified that she considered bidding 3♥. The hesitation 
and the question both suggest that South should keep the auction alive.  
The Committee spent little time determining that pass (rather than a double at his second 
turn) is a logical alternative for South. If West had held North’s ♥A instead of the ♥3, the 
auction might have been identical back to South’s second action. Then the double might 
cost N/S fourteen or more IMPs. A simple consideration of the dangers of doubling a 
second time should indicate that pass is a logical alternative. The Committee found that a 
substantial number of South’s peers would pass at South’s second opportunity. 
Accordingly, the Committee upheld the director’s decision to adjust the table result to 2♠ 
down three, undoubled, N/S +150, E/W -150.  
Before the hearing, the director, in screening, had fully explained to the N/S pair how 
Law 16, Unauthorized Information, is applied. The Committee decided that after having 
the director explain the relevant law to them and having the director’s rationale for their 
ruling explained to them, a pair of N/S’s experience should have known not to bring this 
case to a Committee. Therefore, the Committee awarded an Appeal Without Merit 
Warning to each member of the N/S pair.  
 
The Committee: Michael Huston (Chair), Ed Lazarus and Tom Peters.  
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith All good, but this is close enough to a procedural penalty (PP) for abuse of 

UI that the AC needs to say why they rejected it.  I wouldn't have.  My 
criterion for a PP is roughly to give them when I look at the offender's 
hand and think, "you can't do that!"  Since that is a normal reaction to 
South's choice, I think he deserves a PP. 
On the other hand, if N/S is playing takeout doubles in South's seat, then 
isn't North's pass forcing?  Since N/S didn't mention it, presumably it 
wasn't, so that's irrelevant. 

 
Polisner Simple case, correct ruling and award of AWMW. 
 
Rigal Correct award of an AWMW. Yet again a pair brings an appeal because 

they don’t like the way they have been punished for their infraction – but 
the law is the law. 

 



 
Wildavsky I agree that this appeal had no merit. 

It's also worth noting that no player has any business volunteering 
information during the auction. Unless an opponent asks a question one 
must restrict one's vocabulary to the single word "Alert" and when called 
for to the three ACBL mandated announcements "Transfer", "Forcing", 
and "Could be short." 

 
Wolff To me it is not as clear cut as the director and the committee suggested, 

but all in all it would be my ruling also.  I was more interested in what 
happened at the screening where the appellees were instructed on the 
possibility, in the event of losing, that they may be charged with an 
AWMW if no additional substantive facts were presented. 

 
Zeiger  Slam dunk. 


