
APPEAL NABC+ FOUR                  
Subject: Tempo 
DIC: Henry Cukoff 
Event: Mixed Pairs 
Session: First Qualifying, April 4, 2006 
 
   
Board #3 Benny Libsten 
Vul: E/W ♠ K 
Dlr: South ♥ A T 8 6 5 2 
  ♦ T 9 7 
  ♣ T 8 3 
 
 R. Jay Becker  Rhoda Prager 
 ♠ Q 9 4 3 2  ♠ A T 8 6 5 
 ♥ 6 3   ♥ K J 8 7 
 ♦ 4   ♦ A J 
 ♣ A 9 5 4 2  ♣ J 6 
   

Hai Gates 
  ♠ J 7 
  ♥ Q 
  ♦ K Q 8 6 5 3 2 
  ♣ K Q 7 
 
 West North East South 
    1♦ 
 Pass 2♥1 Pass2 3♦ 
 Dbl Pass 4♠ Pass 
 Pass Dbl All Pass 
 

(1) Not Alerted. 
(2) Alleged break in tempo. 
 

The Facts: The director was called after the double of 3♦.  North claimed that East’s Pass 
over 2♥ was longer than ten seconds.  East said that she took a few seconds and then 
asked about the 2♥ call, which had not been alerted, and then took a few more seconds 
and passed within ten seconds.  South said that she did not notice how long it was.  West 
said that it was at most twelve seconds.  The table result was 4♠ doubled making four, 
E/W +790. 
 
The Ruling: There was no break in tempo as East is required to wait about ten seconds 
over a skip bid. Therefore, there is no infraction and the table result of 4♠ doubled 
making four, E/W +790 stands. South was advised that the weak jump shift response 
without competition requires an Alert. 
  



The Appeal: N/S said that they disagreed with the director’s ruling because East thought 
about the 2♥ bid, sought an explanation, got it, and then hesitated more than ten seconds.  
They contended that this constituted a break in tempo.  E/W said that East thought about 
five seconds before the explanation and then about twelve seconds after it.   
 
The Decision: The Committee decided that an unmistakable hesitation occurred and that 
it clearly showed that East had a hand worth contemplating possible action.  Pass was a 
logical alternative for West over 3♦.  Therefore, the Committee adjusted the table result 
to 3♦ making four, N/S +130 and E/W -130.   
 
The Committee: Barry Rigal (Chair), Jeff Aker, Richard Budd, Ed Lazarus and Chris 
Willenken.  
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Good judgment by the AC.  How can we know there was a hesitation?  By 

West's double.  Perhaps a procedural penalty (PP) for blatant misuse of 
unauthorized information (UI) was in order. 

 
Polisner Well, it is refreshing to have a player acknowledge the length of the 

hesitation as without that acknowledgement; the evidence would not 
support an “unmistakable hesitation” as required by Law 16, taking into 
account the skip bid.  West, having knowledge of the UI, should have been 
issued a PP for blatant use of the UI. 

 
Rigal From the facts before the committee it did seem that there was a break in 

tempo (BIT). It is not entirely surprising that the tournament director ruled 
the other way initially, given South’s complicity in the problem by her 
failure to alert. That said, if a BIT was established, then West clearly had a 
logical alternative to acting. 

 
Wildavsky I understand the tournament director (TD) ruling -- my guess is that the 

TD judged that N/S had brought this problem upon themselves through 
their failure to alert. 
The AC did a good job of bringing out the facts and given those facts its 
ruling looks right to me. 



 
Wolff Good ruling and West was ENTIRELY out of line to bid, still between 

two bidders but expecting North to pass.  When East does not bid an 
obvious two spades, but commits hesitation disruption instead, to me it is 
time for both East and West to be censured. 

 
Zeiger Whoa!  I'll accept the Committee's finding of a tempo break, based on 

E/W's own testimony.  I'll accept the Committee's finding that Pass by 
West over 3♦ was a logical alternative.  I refuse to accept the Committee's 
failure to even address whether East would pass out 3♦.  Yes, yes, I know 
East might well have passed, but to not even discuss it?  East might 
certainly think she was being stolen blind.  Decision may be right, but 
failing grade to the Committee anyway. 


