
APPEAL NABC+ THREE                     
Subject: Tempo 
DIC: Roger Putnam 
Event: Vanderbilt KO 
Session: Round of 32, April 4, 2006 
 
   Piotr Tuszynski 
Board # 20  ♠ 6 5 2 
Vul: Both  ♥ 5 4 2 
Dlr: West  ♦ 5 
   ♣ A T 9 8 5 2 
 
 John Fout  Jeff Roman 
 ♠ K Q 8  ♠ T 7 3 
 ♥ K Q 9 6  ♥ J T 8 
 ♦ 8 7   ♦ K Q J T 9 2 
 ♣ K 7 6 3  ♣ 4 
 
   Apolinary Kowalski 
   ♠ AJ94 
   ♥ A73 
   ♦ A643 
   ♣ QJ 
 
 West North East South 
 1♣ P 1♠ 1NT 
 P 2♠ 3♦ P 
 P Dbl P 3NT 
 P 4♣ All Pass 
 
The Facts: 4♣ failed by one trick for a score of E/W +100.  The 1♣ opening bid was 
alerted as “may be short” (not a strong club).  The 1♠ response was alerted as showing no 
four-card major and a non-game forcing hand.  The 1NT overcall by South was strong 
and natural.  North’s 2♠ was a transfer to clubs and alerted as such.  The double of 3♦ 
was for take-out.  The director determined that the 3NT bid was made after a hesitation of 
a few seconds.  The players agreed that the hesitation was about 8-10 seconds.   
 
The Ruling: The director ruled that if South had made an immediate* call of 3NT after 
the double of 3♦, it would tend to confirm a good club fit and that the pause break in 
tempo (BIT) suggested some doubt about the playability of 3N.  Applying Law 16, the 
director found that there was a logical alternative to bidding 4♣, which was to pass. 
Accordingly, the director adjusted the score to 3NT down four, E/W +400.  
*In doing the write-up of this case, the director was asked what was meant by immediate. 
The director intended to say that if South had made an in tempo call of 3NT…….  



 
The Appeal: N/S contended that since they had never encountered methods like these 
before (where 1♠ had such a meaning); they would always need a bit of extra time to 
digest the meanings of the bids.  They also contended that South could have bid 3NT 
over the 3♦ call directly if his hand was a ‘perfecto’ opposite a six-card club suit, 
knowing that partner was free to pull it when he was utterly broke.  Accordingly, North 
already knew that his partner did not hold the perfecto (presumably three Aces and good 
club support or something near that). E/W presented arguments along the same lines as 
the director’s ruling 
 
The Decision: The first issue for the Committee to confront was whether there was a 
break in tempo which demonstrably suggested a line of action.  A rapid (or “immediate”) 
call of 3NT would clearly indicate that South’s cards were ideal for the bid.  As such, that 
might constitute unwonted speed which could also lead to a violation of Law 16.  South’s 
pause of 8-10 seconds was the normal result of his being confronted with very unusual 
methods which required him to review the meaning of all North’s and East’s bids.  
Therefore, the Committee decided that the pause of 8-10 seconds to process that 
information does not generate such a break in tempo as to call into play Law 16. The 
committee restored the table result of 4♣ down one for both sides, N/S -100, E/W +100.  
 
The Committee: Michael Huston (Chair), Dick Budd and Gail Greenberg  



 
Commentary: 
 
Gerard Big time whiff.  Switch the minor suit threes and tell me how South would 

bid 3NT with his "perfecto".  What about with king-third of clubs instead, 
don't you want to be in 3NT even when it doesn't make?  East can't be 
void in clubs since he must have had some way to show a 7-card diamond 
suit over 1♣.  If East's singleton isn't an honor, you gain IMPs for down 
one in 3NT against down two in 4♣.  When East holds singleton quack, 
you gain many more IMPs for being in the right contract.  One of the 
Committee members told me that when 3NT is wrong it's very wrong, but 
aside from the fact that nobody thinks like that these days it's clear that 
3NT can only be wrong when South shouldn't have bid it.  I mean, queen 
jack DOUBLETON, who would have thunk it?  Plus some "perfecto" club 
holdings aren't so perfect after West has opened 1♣.  Sure, sure, West has 
to open 1♣ on any 4=4=2=3, but South is going to be leery about his 
"ideal" clubs when even AKx won't run the suit against J10xxxx.  How 
can N/S play the way they suggest when North doesn't know whether 
queen-sixth and out constitutes being "utterly broke"?  (IMO, it shouldn't.)  
And why does South need to rush into 3NT over 3♦ when North is still 
there to compete with any hand that could tolerate 3NT, presuming he 
would have a way to cope with 6-3-2-2?  No, N/S's arguments were bogus.  
Maybe the Committee should have polled the consultants from the 
previous case who would have passed 3NT in a similar situation with 
king-ten-eight sixth and out. 
But the Committee didn't even do us the honor of misanalyzing the 
arguments, they copped out on procedural grounds.  The time to review 
the meaning of all the bids was over 1♠ and 3♦; North's double didn't add 
any confusion to a known situation.  And the auction wasn't that 
complicated: 1♠ was artificial, 2♠ showed clubs, 3♦ showed a bunch of 
diamonds and a weak hand, double was for takeout.  Sure the 1♠ bid was 
unusual, but everything else was as it sounded.  Processing the 
information had or should have already taken place, South's pause could 
only relate to the bidding decision he was now faced with.  What the 
Committee did was like awarding average plus/average minus when the 
Laws scream out for a real adjustment.  Not even a "We don't think there 
was a hesitation, but even if there had been a hesitation pass was not a 
logical alternative (LA)."  If there was indeed no unmistakable hesitation, 
why was the first comment of the Committee member I mentioned 
previously related to how wrong it could be to pass 3NT?  I guarantee you 
the players at the table knew what South was thinking about. 
You notice that there was a Committee of three.  That was not supposed to 
be the case, but there was one recusal for alleged bias and a further recusal 
because of prior knowledge and for symmetry. The Committee 
mishandled that issue also.  Had the recusals not taken place, there would 
have been at the least one strongly-worded dissent. 



 
Goldsmith Again, I don't buy it.  Not only does the E/W bidding seem pretty 

transparent (long diamonds in a weakish hand); the time to assimilate 
E/W's bidding was on the first and second rounds.  To argue that South 
had to think about his action due to weird methods after 3♦ was bid has 
some merit, but a round later, the problem is no longer the opponents' 
methods, but South's own bidding decision.  If South had asked 15   
questions about the E/W bidding prior to his 3NT call, then maybe I'd buy 
his claim.   
What a set of committees!  K10xxxx was required to play in 3NT doubled 
(case 2), but A10xxxx was allowed to pull, in roughly similar situations 
(with UI suggesting that 3NT isn't the right spot).   

 
Polisner I agree with the Committee.  When opponents use unusual methods which 

must be digested and considered in light of decisions to be made, normal 
tempo is expanded.  I think that 3 - 5 seconds would be appropriate tempo 
with no unusual methods and 5 - 8 seconds with unusual methods.  Under 
my view, there was no BIT and the table result stands. 

 
Rigal The committee’s decision that there was no BIT was a controversial one; 

I’m not sure I agree, but I can understand where they were coming from. 
The issue about the complexity of the auction buying N/S a little more 
time seems a reasonable one… plus I suppose that I can’t help being 
influenced by the fact that I would never have sat for 3NT anyway with 
the North cards after partner did not bid 3NT over 3♦ directly -- though 
that was certainly a minority opinion. 

 
Wildavsky First of all I see no reason for a Vanderbilt committee to be composed of 

only three members. If it is too difficult to seat a committee between 
sessions then waiting 'till the end of the day is not the end of the world. 
Yes, the AC will know that the match hinges on their decision, but they 
won't know how.  
Second I see nothing especially unusual in the E/W methods. N/S are 
experienced internationalists. When South passed over 3♦ he knew that the 
auction was in all particulars identical to one that in Standard American 
would have started with: 1♣ - P - 1♦ - 1NT. Thus, South clearly broke 
tempo when bidding 3NT. We can see from his hand that he was 
considering passing or bidding 3♠. 
What did North hope to gain by doubling? A big penalty seems unlikely. 
In fact had South passed they'd have gone -670. It looks as though North 
was hoping his partner could bid 3NT, yet when it was bid he didn't sit for 
it! Passing 3NT was surely logical, so if North had UI he was not allowed 
to pull it. The AC judged that no UI was present, but I find their reasoning 
unconvincing and I prefer the tournament director's ruling. 



 
Wolff Another impossible decision to make, having to do with strange bidding 

methods, which in this case (according to the committee) allowed N/S to 
hesitate their way to success.  This one was allowed by the committee. 

 
Zeiger When North doubled 3♦, for takeout we're told, where did he think the 

partnership was heading?  Did he plan on passing three of a major?  Was 
he afraid South might have a five carder?  If the Committee asked these 
questions, received affirmative answers, and accepted their logic, I can 
accept the decision.  This would mean the write up is sorely deficient.  I 
can live with this possibility, but I certainly hope the Committee didn't just 
avoid these issues by deciding no tempo break.  If North didn't have good 
reasons for his double, I'll bet at least HE thought South broke tempo. 


