
                                               
APPEAL NABC+ SIXTEEN 
Subject: Misinformation (MI) 
DIC: Steve Bates 
Event: NABC Swiss  
Session: 2nd Qualifying, April 8, 2006 
 
   Jacob Morgan 
Board #21  ♠ K J 8 4 
Vul: N-S  ♥ A J 
Dlr: North  ♦ A T 7 
   ♣ J T 9 4 
 
 Mark Feldman  Bart Bramley 
 ♠ 5   ♠ A Q T 7  
 ♥ 8 4 3   ♥ T 9 6 2 
 ♦ 8 6 5 3 2  ♦ K Q 4 
 ♣ 8 6 5 2   ♣ K Q 
 
   Marty Harris 
   ♠ 9 6 3 2 
   ♥ K Q 7 5 
   ♦ J 9 
   ♣ A 7 3 
Note: The spot cards are guesses as spot cards were noted by xs on Appeals Form. 
 
 West North East South 
  1♦1 1NT Dbl 
 2♠ Dbl Pass Pass 
 Rdbl Pass 2NT Pass 
 3♦ All Pass 
 

(1) Could be as short as two. 
 

The Facts: On the lead of a diamond, 3♦ failed by three tricks, +150 N/S.  The director 
was called prior to the final pass.   
 
The Ruling: E/W submitted system notes that clearly showed the 2♠ call was natural in 
this auction. The director ruled that the table result would stand.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 
The Appeal: N/S noted that E/W play that, without the double, that West’s 2♠ is for the 
minors.  N/S thought that was how West intended it and why East selected Diamonds 
rather than Hearts over the Redouble.  N/S thought that with an accurate explanation, 
they would have had a better chance of doubling 3♦. 
E/W’s system notes clearly state that suit bids are natural over a double of 1NT.  West 
psyched 2♠, taking advantage of the favorable vulnerability to try to make it difficult for 
the opponents to reach a good spade game.  As a matter of bridge logic, West’s redouble 
was clearly for takeout.  East was unsure whether to play diamonds or hearts, but once 
diamonds were not doubled, it was clear to pass.   
 
The Decision: E/W’s notes clearly stated that suit bids over a double of 1NT are natural.  
E/W’s agreements were properly explained, so the score could not be adjusted.  The 
committee discussed whether to issue an Appeal Without Merit Warning (AWMW) but 
concluded by not issuing one.   
 
The Committee: Doug Doub (Chair), Mike Kovacich and Kathleen Sulgrove. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith AWMW.  Not close unless N/S were very inexperienced. 
 
Polisner West’s 2♠ bid is either a misbid or a psyche.  In either case, it is NOT MI 

 and no adjustment is possible.  Failure to give an AWMW is improper. 
 
Rigal Again, an AWMW got away. The non-offenders got to see their 

opponent’s system file and still pursued the case, one that they should 
have known they had no chance to win. 

 
Wildavsky This appeal had no merit. 
 
Wolff Clear bias in favor of convention disruption because of name 

identification. There is no doubt in my mind that West intended his two 
spade bid the same as without the interference,  e.g. a minor suit takeout 
simply because that is what he had.  To speak of a psych is "sophistry" at 
its extreme and any and everyone will agree.  Should West have spoken 
out and agreed, I think so, but why should he hurt himself in the 
committee?  I assume that the word psych didn't begin with it coming 
from West's lips.  Anyway this committee bought another bridge. 

 
Zeiger Pray tell, how could the Committee not give an AWMW?  N/S are nice 

guys, but that doesn't give this waste of time any merit.  I don't care if 
West psyched or forgot.  Either way, the system notes proved no MI.   

 


