
 
APPEAL NABC+ FOURTEEN                 
Subject: Misinformation (MI) 
DIC: Steve Bates 
Event: Jacoby Open Swiss 
Session: 2nd Qualifying, April 8, 2006 
 
   Diane Walker 
Board #4  ♠ Q T 8 5 
Vul: Both  ♥ 4 
Dlr: West  ♦ K T 9 8 
   ♣ J 8 7 2 
 
 Mel Colchamiro Janet Colchamiro 
 ♠ K 7 4  ♠ 6 2 
 ♥ A Q J 8 2  ♥ 9 7 
 ♦ 3   ♦ A 6 5 2 
 ♣ K Q 6 5  ♣ A T 9 4 3 
 
   Ellen Cherniavsky 
   ♠ A J 9 3 
   ♥ K T 6 5 3 
   ♦ Q J 7 4 
   ♣  
 
 West North East South 
 1♣1 Pass 1♦2 Dbl3

 1♥ 1♠ 2♣4 2♠ 
 3♣ Pass 3♥ Pass 
 4♦ Pass 4♥ Pass 
 4NT Pass 5♥ All Pass 
 

(1) Forcing, 15-21 HCP 
(2) 6+ HCP 
(3) When asked, told that it was “takeout” 
(4) Game forcing 
 

The Facts: N/S play Mathe but claim that it does not apply in this seat.  South said she 
meant it as a takeout and would convert clubs.  Neither convention card had anything 
about Mathe in immediate seat only.  Both sides said that “double = takeout” makes no 
sense.  “Mathe” was not mentioned at the table.  The final contract was 5♥, down three 
on the lead of the ♠5, E/W -300. 

 
 
 
 
 



The Ruling: The director adjusted the score to +600.  The director said that Laws 21B3 
and 40C both apply.  If E/W had been aware that N/S play Mathe in direct seat, they 
might have avoided the ♥ contract and played 5♣ instead.   
 
The Appeal: South said that she and her partner hadn’t discussed playing Mathe after 
1♣ – Pass – 1♦.  She explained that, when she doubled, she wanted her partner to bid 
something.  North said that she would not expect less than 4-3 in the majors.  E/W said 
that they would have looked for 3NT if they had the information that the double showed 
the majors.   
 
The Decision: The Committee found no evidence of an agreement other than a general 
“bid something.”  Therefore, we felt that “takeout” was a good approximation.  
Therefore, there was no misinformation.  The Committee Chairman felt the auction went 
off the rails with the 3♥ bid and that the 4NT bid was a vast overbid.  Accordingly, the 
table result of 5♥, down three; E/W -300 was restored.  
 
The Committee: Jeff Meckstroth (Chair), Aaron Silverstein and Bob White.  
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Good ruling, AC.  We ought to be able to give AWMWs for calling the 

director when, on appeal, the director's ruling is overturned. 
 
Polisner My recollection of the Mathe convention when Lew Mathe invented it was 

that it only applied to the 1♣ bid.  It was later that players expanded it to 
the 1♦ response and even later that some players used it over strong 2♣ 
openers.  The ACBL does not have an official definition of conventions 
and since the word “Mathe” was not used at the table, there was no MI and 
should not have resulted in an adjusted score.  Good work by the AC. 

 
Rigal A generous ruling for N/S, but the committee obviously felt that if there 

was any damage it was subsequent to any MI and not consequent from it. 
My own instincts are that N/S have an obligation to know what they play 
against a strong club – but the fact that South did have a hand that was 
take-out of diamonds (admittedly into the majors only rather than the 
majors plus clubs) maybe gets them off the hook. 

 
Wildavsky Good work by the AC. 
 
Wolff OK, I guess.  When "strange" is playing "strange" let them fight it out.  

Whatever happens, strange will win. 
 
Zeiger If East's 2♣ was natural and game forcing, not clearly stated, I have zero 

sympathy for EW.  They were told "takeout."  They uncovered their club 
fit.  What did they think South had for a "takeout" double?  I'm not 



impressed with the Committee's reasoning, or the write up, but their 
decision was correct. 
By the way, if 2♣ wasn't natural, why in the world didn't East raise clubs? 

 


