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BD# 10 1,420 Masterpoints 
VUL Both ♠ 9 5 
DLR East ♥ K 8 5 

♦ A T 5  

 

♣ Q 7 6 5 4 
1,040 Masterpoints 3,450 Masterpoints 

♠ K T 7 6  ♠ Q 3 
♥ A 9 ♥ Q T 7 5 4 3 
♦ 8 2 ♦ J 4 3 
♣ A K J 9 3 

 
 

Summer 2006 
Chicago, Illinois 

♣ T 2 
6,500 Masterpoints 

♠ A J 8 4 2 
♥ J 2 
♦ K Q 9 7 6 
♣ 8 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 2♥ by E 

  Pass 1♠ Opening Lead ♣8 
1NT Dbl 2♦1 Pass Table Result 2♥ by E making 2, E/W +110 
Pass Dbl 2♥ Pass Director Ruling 2♥ by E making 2, E/W +110 
Pass Pass   

 

Panel Ruling 3♦ by N making 3, N/S +110 
 
(1) Intended as a transfer – not Announced or explained. Card is marked systems on 

after overcalls and over double and 2♣. 
 
The Facts: South asked about the 2♦ and West said he didn’t think they played transfers 
in this sequence. North said he would not have done anything different with the correct 
information. South said he would have doubled 2♦. South believed that had he doubled 
2♦ that the auction would not have ended at 2♥. 
 
The Ruling: The table result stands, since neither law 40C3 nor 16 applies.  
 
The Appeal: South said he would have doubled 2♦ if told it was a transfer. He could not 
double when told it wasn’t a transfer since that would cause E/W to run from 2♦. He 
could not bid 3♦ over 2♥ as this would prevent his partner from doubling 2♥ if North had 
long/good hearts. South felt that, if he were told 2♦ was a transfer, he would double it. 
Then, after; 2♦ Dbl Pass  Pass 
                        2♥ Pass Pass,  his partner could bid 3♦. 
West did not feel it was clear North would bid 3♦ even if South doubled 2♦. South could 
have only four diamonds for his double. 



 
The Decision: Three expert players were polled given South’s hand. One felt that passing 
2♦ was taking a position assuming it was not a transfer and doubling, whatever it meant, 
could be right. Having passed, however, he felt there was a bid possible over 2♥ since 
partner could have good hearts and want to double. He was understanding of, but not 
convinced, that the failure to Announce the transfer affected South’s auction. 
The other two were both firm and said immediately that it was right to pass 2♦ if natural 
and double if a transfer. As such, they felt the missed Announcement clearly prevented 
South from doubling, which would be the correct call if the agreed agreement had been 
Announced. 
The panel decided that MI had been given by the failure to announce the transfer as the 
agreement on the convention card was that it was a transfer. Based on the polling, the 
panel found that: 1) South’s call was based on MI and 2) South would have doubled with 
the correct information (law 40C). As such the panel awarded an adjusted score. In 
accordance with law 12C2, 3♦ by North was determined to be the most favorable result 
likely for the non-offending side, and this result also was determined to be the most 
favorable result at all probable for the offending side. As such, 3♦ by North making three, 
N/S +110 was the score assigned by the panel for both sides.   
 
The Panel: Peter Marcus (Reviewer), Candy Kuschner and Charles MacCracken 
 
Players Consulted: Mark Lair, Tom Smith and Adam Zmudzinski. 


