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BD# 33 Paul Stern 
VUL None ♠ 9 
DLR North ♥ Q J T 6 4 3 2 

♦ T 2  

 

♣ A Q 9 
Deborah Murphy Gary Donner 

♠ A J 6 3 2 ♠ K Q T 4 
♥ 8 ♥ A 9 5 
♦  ♦ A K Q 7 3 
♣ K J 8 6 5 4 3 

 
 

Summer 2006 
Chicago, Illinois 

♣ 7 
Margaret Salazar 

♠ 8 7 5 
♥ K 7 
♦ J 9 8 6 5 4  
♣ T 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4NT by West 

 Pass 1♣1 Pass Opening Lead ♥Q 
2♣2 3♥3 Pass 3♠ Table Result 4NT by W down 3, N/S +150 
4♣ Pass 4♦ Pass Director Ruling 4NT by W down 3, N/S +150 

4NT Pass Pass Pass 

 

Panel Ruling 4NT by W down 3, N/S +150 
 
(1) Strong – Alerted. 
(2) Natural and positive. 
(3) Announced as a transfer. 
 
The Facts: N/S play transfer responses versus a strong club only directly over the 1♣ 
opening according to North. Only North’s card was marked with this agreement although 
South erroneously Announced 3♥ as a transfer. When West was asked what she would 
have done with the correct information, she said she would have still bid 4♣. 
 
The Ruling: There was MI. There was no direct connection between the MI and the 
damage. Therefore, the table result of 4NT by West down three, N/S +150 was allowed to 
stand. (Law 40C) 
 
The Appeal: West was asked on several occasions, both by the table director and the 
screener, whether, given the proper information that 3♥ was natural and not a transfer to 
spades, she would have made a call other than 4♣. On the fourth occasion, several hours 
after the actual hand had been played, she said she might have doubled instead. She did 
not seem to grasp that the 3♠ bid had been made and that we could not change that. 



When asked later about the meaning of 4NT, she stated that it was probably RKCB for 
clubs and this was simply her response. 
East was asked if he would have made a different call over 3♥ if he had the proper 
information at the time. He stated that he suspected that 3♥ was natural given the quality 
of his spades. He did not want to double 3♥ because he thought he would have the 
opportunity to double 4♥ instead. 
 
The Decision: Several partnerships of 2,000 to 2,500 masterpoints were asked to bid 
after the sequence of:  1♣ Pass 2♣ 3♥ 
   Pass 3♠ 
None were able to reach a spade slam, although all would have doubled 3♠. 
E/W’s bad result occurred because of their bidding, not because of MI given by N/S. If 
West had doubled 3♠, it would have led to a better result. But, without West stating that 
she would have doubled 3♠, it seems clear that the panel could not protect E/W. 
 
The panel judged that law 40C did not apply. The table result of 4NT by West down 
three, N/S +150 was allowed to stand, and a procedural penalty of 2 victory points was 
assessed against N/S for: 
1. Failing to Alert properly (announcing a transfer when an Alert was required). 
2. Not having two properly completed and matching convention cards. 
 
The Panel: Harry Falk (Reviewer), Candy Kuschner and Gary Zeiger. 
 
Players Consulted: Several partnerships considered E/W peers. 


