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1,435 Masterpoints 1,044 Masterpoints 
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♣ 9 3 
370 Masterpoints 

♠ 3 
♥ A Q 9 7 6 5 3 
♦ A 3 2 
♣ K T 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 6♦ by N 

   1♥ Opening Lead ♥8 
1♠ 2♦ 2♠ 3♥ Table Result 6♦ down 1, N/S -100 
3♠ 5♦ Pass Pass Director Ruling ♦3 played, retraction denied 
5♠ Pass Pass 6♦ Panel Ruling ♦3 played, retraction denied 

Pass Pass Pass  

 

 
 
 
The Facts: When the director arrived at the table, he was told that declarer had led a non 
trump from his hand (North). East trumped with the ♦5. On dummy were the Ace and 
three of diamonds. Declarer said, “Ruff.” The he said, “Overruff.” It was agreed that the 
change of designation was made quickly; however the opponents said there was a pause 
between the two designations. 
 
The Ruling: In accordance with law 45C4(a), it was determined that the statement 
“Ruff” was not inadvertent. Therefore, the ♦3 was played and its retraction denied. Also 
see law 46B2. 



 
The Appeal: Declarer had evaluated the hand and knew he had to ruff two clubs to make 
the hand. The ♦5 was on the table before declarer said “Ruff” and then “Overruff.” 
Declarer felt that his intentions were clear. This was inadvertent – a misspeak – as 
opposed to two thought processes. He mentioned that were he a known player, his 
statement would be more credible. 
East felt it was possible that declarer didn’t think clubs broke 5-2 for the defense and 
could have made a mistake. 
The play had been: 
Trick 1: ♥8-♥A-♥T-♠5 
Trick 2: ♦2-♦6-♦K–♦4 
Trick 3: ♣4-♣3- ♣K-♣2 
Trick 4: ♣T-♣6-♣A-♣9 
Trick 5: ♣5-♦5  
 
The Decision: A policy statement dated 12/2003 regarding law 45C4: “Directors should 
be alert to situations involving inadvertency or declarer thinking ahead. To deem a called 
card from dummy as inadvertent, the change of call must be the result solely of a slip of 
the tongue – not a momentary mental lapse.” 
 The interpretation of the law is very strict. This declarer knew he had to ruff two clubs to 
make his contract. When the ♦5 was played by East, declarer must be alert and say 
overruff. Declarer’s intent was to ruff low, then ruff the last club with the ace. It is 
possible, after seeing the opponent’s ♦5, he had another thought process to say the word, 
“overruff.” His saying the word “Ruff” could be a lapse. The panel unanimously upheld 
the director’s decision of disallowing the retraction of the ♦3.  
The panel discussed the merit of the appeal. Because of the high standard required of 
declarer when calling a card from the dummy, the panel could empathize with declarer’s 
analysis of inadvertency that he wasn’t reacting to the ♦5 played by East. Therefore, the 
panel decided the appeal had merit. 
 
The Panel: Patty Holmes (Reviewer), Peter Marcus and Gary Zeiger. 
 
Players Consulted: None. 


