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BD# 28 Larry Cohen 
VUL N/S ♠ T 6 4 3 
DLR West ♥ K Q T 6 5 

♦ 8 2  

 

♣ 8 4 
Bob Walsh Delores Brenner 

♠ 7 5 ♠ A K Q J 9 8 2 
♥ 9 4 ♥ A 
♦ J 9 7 ♦ K 3 
♣ A K Q T 9 5 

 
 

Summer 2006 
Chicago, Illinois 

♣ 6 3 2 
Craig Gardner 

♠  
♥ J 8 7 3 2 
♦ A Q T 6 5 4 
♣ J 7 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 6♠, doubled, by East 
Pass Pass 4♠1 4NT Opening Lead ♥3 
5♣ 5♥ 5♠ 6♥ Table Result 6♠ by E, doubled, E/W +1310

Pass Pass 6♠ Dbl Director Ruling 6♥ by N, doubled, down two, 
 N/S -500 

Pass Pass Pass  

 

Committee Ruling 6♠ by E, doubled, E/W +1310
 
(1) 4♠ was alerted as less strong than 4♦, since E/W agreed to play Namyats 
 
The Facts: E/W had agreed to play Namyats (four of a major is a weaker hand with a 
long suit and four of the respective minor is a stronger hand) and had put it on their card.  
East on this hand decided to make a strategic underbid, knowing that Namyats was on the 
card and that West was a passed hand and probably did not hold the values for slam 
exploration.  The 4♠ bid was alerted and explained according to the partnership’s 
agreement.   
 
The Ruling: It was judged that when East became aware that her partner thought she 
held a weak hand (from the UI of the alert and explanation), this now demonstrably 
suggested a 6♠ call.  It was judged that double was a logical alternative (LA) but pass was 
not a LA. Therefore, the table result was adjusted to 6♥, doubled, down two, -500 N/S in 
accordance with laws 16A and 12C2.  



 
The Appeal: E/W, the only players to attend the hearing, contended that their bid was 
properly alerted and  explained.  The partnership (which played roughly once a month) 
had a detailed and well-documented system file. Since East was willing to give up on 
slam possibilities facing a passed hand, she strategically deviated from the agreement.  
East claimed that there was no infraction. She was merely using her own bidding 
judgment (by which she indicated that she thought that 6♥ might make). Her partner’s 
lead-directing call was facing her length, and the ♦K was clearly waste paper.  Had the 
club ace been with South (which was where the auction implied it would be) a club lead 
would be necessary to beat slam. 
 
The Decision: The committee questioned East about her exploitation of Namyats, asking 
such questions as whether her hand would be a Namyats 4♠ bid in first or second seat.  
She said that it would not be; it would be a 4♦ bid. The committee determined that by 
East’s reasoning, her bid was an intentional deviation from the convention and that she 
would also have bid 4♠ in third seat with much weaker (defensive) hands.  Since a player 
is allowed to deviate from partnership agreements intentionally (so long as the player’s 
partner is as much in the dark about it as the opponents), the committee concluded that no 
infraction occurred.  Therefore the committee restored the table result 6♠ doubled making 
seven, E/W +1310. 
 
The Committee: Richard Popper (chairperson), Mark Bartusek, Ed Lazarus, Barry Rigal 
and Peggy Sutherlin. 


