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West North East  South Final Contract 5♣ doubled by N 

 1♣ 1♠ Dbl Opening Lead ♠A 
2♥ 3♥ 4♠ 5♣ Table Result Down 5, N/S -1100 

Pass Pass Dbl  Pass Director Ruling 5♣ dbld, down 5, N/S -1100 
Pass Pass   

 

Committee Ruling 5♣ dbld, down 5, N/S -1100 
 
The Facts: The director was called at the conclusion of the play of the hand. North and 
South had repeatedly asked about the meaning of the 2♥ bid and had been told that the 
agreement was natural. E/W are an irregular but steady partnership. West said that he had 
psyched 2♥. East said he worked out that West had spades when North bid 3♥. South 
took 3♥ as a cuebid.  
 
The Ruling: There was no evidence of an explicit agreement about 2♥ (i.e., a 
conventional spade raise) or that the E/W pair had a history of making psychic calls. Law 
40B12 was deemed not to apply. Per Law 40C1 (which gives a player the right to deviate 
from announced agreements as long as his partner has no more reason to be aware of the 
deviation than the opponents), no infraction occurred. Therefore, the table result of 5♣ 
doubled by North, down five, N/S minus 1100 was allowed to stand for both sides. 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s ruling. All four players appeared at the hearing. 
N/S argued that West's 2♥ bid was intended as an artificial spade raise, and that East 
forgot the partnership agreement.  Since E/W claimed to rarely psych, this is a more 
likely explanation for the 2♥ bid than that it was a classic psyching situation.  If E/W's 
agreement were that 2♥ is a spade raise, and N/S were so informed, then N/S would not 
have played in 5♣, but would have been in hearts instead. 
  
E/W stated that although they played transfers in other auctions, West's 2♥ bid was 
natural according to their agreements.  They do not play transfer advances after overcalls.  
They believed West was fully within his rights to psych.  With a big spade fit and South's 
negative double, West thought that it was unlikely that partner would get too excited 
about playing in hearts, and he could always correct to spades. 
  
The Decision:  E/W's convention card did not state that they played transfer advances, so 
the committee judged that N/S were given the correct explanation of E/W's partnership 
agreement of the 2♥ bid.  Since there was no suggestion that East received unauthorized 
information, his 4♠ bid does not suggest that he violated a law. Thus the table result of 5♣ 
doubled by North, down five, N/S minus 1100 was allowed to stand for both sides. 
 
Since it appeared to N/S that either an opponent psyched and his partner read it or else 
they were given misinformation, the committee judged that the appeal had merit. 
 
The Committee: Doug Doub (Chair), Dick Budd and John Solodar. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Good job all around.   
 
Polisner I find it difficult to believe that East did not believe that West at least had 

spade support for his 2♥ bid even if it was ostensibly natural.  My opinion 
is that West may have erroneously believed that 2♥ was a spade raise and 
rather than admit he had forgotten the agreement said that he had psyched.  
The law requires that there is a presumption of MI which can be overcome 
by convincing evidence to the contrary.  I don’t see such evidence 
presented in the write-up which leads me to conclude that the ruling and 
decision were wrong.  If the director and committee concluded that there 
was “no explicit agreement” about 2♥, then informing the opponents that 
it was natural is, by definition, MI. 

 
Rigal I would be unhappy as South if this happened to me. But in the absence of 

any reference to transfer advances I'm not sure how we can legislate 
anything to exist with so little evidence. I think the appeal is interesting 
enough to have merit...barely. 



  
Smith This kind of case is difficult for everyone.  For the committee to have 

ruled in favor of N/S, it would have been forced to find that one or both of 
East or West were not telling the truth no matter how it finessed its 
decision.  And that becomes a conduct committee matter, not a matter for 
an appeals committee.  Maybe 2♥ intended as a transfer is more likely 
than intended as a psych, but that doesn't come close to proving that 2♥ 
wasn't intended as the psych West claimed.  And it is entirely likely to me 
that the repeated questions about 2♥ helped East work out that his partner 
had spade support.  I think the committee made the right decision here, 
since the explanations of East and West were certainly plausible. 

 
Wildavsky E/W ought to have been asked whether they had ever played transfers in 

this auction. If so it colors the auction differently for them, and its 
information to which N/S were entitled. I'd also have liked to ask West 
why he didn't bid 5♠ over 5♣. 
I think this case was one where "you had to be there." I don't know how I'd 
have ruled had I been present -- I cannot fault the director and committee 
rulings. 

 
Wolff What about East's spade jump?  If West was psyching and not 

“conventioning,” why would East now jump in spades?  My ruling +1100 
E/W, -1100 N/S but 1/2 board procedural penalty to E/W for East's 
picking up (or whatever) West's psych or else what it really was. 

  
 


