
 
   

  
Issue 8: 2006 BridgeHands Newsletter  

Orchestrating Notrump Contracts October-November 2006  

  

Dear BridgeHand Friends,  

Welcome to Bridgehands eMag Newsletter, Issue 8. Do you look forward to bidding 
and playing a Notrump contract or do you fear Notrump enough to influence your 
bidding? Sure, we’ve all had an occasion of playing in a poor Notrump contact. Suits 
can split poorly, stoppers don’t always hold up, and declarer play can be 
challenging. Yet avoiding a makeable Notrump contract faces its own consequence.  

In this issue, we will take a look at the basics of Notrump contracts: the hand 
shape, hand evaluation, opener rebidding considerations, and play fundamentals. 
Do you worry about a worthless doubleton? Are all honors created equal? Should 
you upgrade your hand with a five card minor suit?  

The Rule of 5 provides a handy rule of thumb to consider in competitive auctions. 
The saying goes, “the five level belongs to the opponents.” Let’s consider the 
rationale behind this axiom and when your common judgment might prevail.  

Note: Viewing the hands below requires your EMAIL reader to use "fixed fonts" (not 
proportional). If you have problems reading this document, please view our online 
web-based copy or Adobe Acrobat PDF file suitable for printing.  

If a friend forwarded you this BridgeHands newsletter, you can signup here for your 
own free subscription. 
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Orchestrating Notrump Contracts - How's your shape?  

Given Notrump contracts assume balanced partnership assets without an 8 card 
major suit fit, what constitutes a balanced hand? The general guideline is one of 
the following hand shapes:  

   4-3-3-3, 4-4-3-2, 5-3-3-2 

Fair enough, but how about the point distribution within the suits? May the 2 card 
suit contain a worthless doubleton or should the suit possess a useful honor? Aside 
from a slam contract, should we be concerned about a worthless doubleton when 
playing a game or partscore Notrump contract? No – in balance, when you aren’t 
holding an honor in the doubleton suit, your partner is more likely to hold the 
missing stopper. Sure, there is a possibility that both you and partner will not hold 
a stopper. Yet in Bridge the name of the game is to optimize your aggregate score, 
not “play it safe” on all hands with only a moderate risk. Actually, when you think 
about it, a long suit headed with 2 of the 3 top honors has more trick-taking 
potential than a short suit with top honors. 

1.  S  A K    
    H  A K 2    
    D  6 5 4 3 2    
    C  J 3 2 
 
2.  S  3 2 
    H  J 3 2 
    D  A K 4 3 2 
    C  A K 2 

While the first hand certainly has double stoppers in the short suit, this holding will 
be hard to generate more than 4 tricks. However, on the second hand if partner 
holds as little as the Diamond Queen, the hand may generate 7 tricks (5 Diamonds 
and 2 Clubs)  

And what about “semi-balanced” hands, with 5-4-2-2 or 6-3-3-2 shape? If you 
play the cards beautifully as a Bridge professional, you probably open certain 
hands in certain situations. Yet as mortals, let’s avoid pushing our luck since these 
hands do not meet the balanced criteria. Recall in previous BridgeHands eMag 
Newsletters, we’ve mentioned “environmental factors.” Accordingly, if we are 
holding a long 6 card suit, that suit is more likely to hold honors – that’s good 
news provided it’s not where all the honors are concentrated. More importantly, if 
we hold a long suit, the opponents are also more likely to hold a long suit. Thus, 
the risk goes up that an opponent will eventually run a long suit. Let’s say you hold 
1 stopper in opponents’ long card suit and lose a finesse in your long suit. Playing 
a 3 Notrump contract, you can still make game when the opponent holds a 4 card 
suit, losing 4 tricks. When opponents hold a 5 card suit, it’s not so easy.  We will 
need one of the following: 2 stoppers, an onside finesse, or a way to disrupt 
transportation to opponent with the long suit.  

 

http://bridgehands.com/E/Environmental_Factors.htm


Notrump Hand Evaluation – Not All Hands are Created Equal  

Take another look at the above hands, would you evaluate both as 15 points? 
Perhaps not – we’ve acknowledged the later hand may take several more tricks. 
Here’s a few general helpful guidelines:  

1. Add 1 point for a 5 card suit with extra trick- taking potential - the second hand 
with “working honors” in a long suit. 
2. Subtract 1 point for a two honor doubleton suit (A-K, K-Q, Q-J) 
3. With close decisions as when partner invites game, upgrade your hand with 
“working honors” collocated in the same suit: 

S  3 2        (working) 
H  A Q 2    
D  A Q J 3 2 
C  K 3 2 
 
S  A J         (not working) 
H  A 3 2 
D  K 5 4 3 2 
C  A 3 2 

Opener Rebidding Considerations What High Card Point opening range do you 
play? For the last 20 years, duplicate players have enjoyed 15-17 HCP while many 
rubber Bridge players continue with the tried-and-true 16-18 HCP range. While the 
lower range has the advantage of a higher frequency of use, conservative players 
might argue that 16-18 HCP is a sounder opening bid. For our discussion here we 
will use the popular 15-17 range. As we learned last month in our captaincy 
lesson, either partners Notrump bid at the cheapest level is a signoff bid with no 
interest in game. Further, opener’s 1 Notrump rebid implies:  

1. No suit fit with responder 
2. 12-14 HCP (assuming 15-17 1 Notrump opener) 
3. A balanced shape (4-3-3-3, 4-4-3-2, 5-3-3-2)  

This begs the question, “But what about when opener has a singleton in partner’s 
bid suit or began with a 5-4-2-2 shape?” Okay, let’s tackle these questions one at 
a time. Let’s say the bidding begins:  

1C – 1S;    And you hold:  
 
S 2 
H A 4 3 2 
D A 3 2 
C A Q 4 3 2 

We normally prefer a 6 card suit to rebid a minor, yet for this holding rebidding the 
Club suit is a reasonable proposition. When good judgment dictates a long suit is 
not likely to “set up” for additional tricks (promotion), we should consider other 
options. For instance, if you instead held a singleton Spade Ace or King and a 



lonely honor in your Club suit, rebidding 1 Notrump would be a thoughtful call.  

Now let’s turn our attention to the hand with a 5-4-2-2 shape. To add to the 
complexity, we’ll assume we have 2-2 in the major suits. Would you open 1 
Notrump holding 15-17 HCP or perhaps rebid 1 Notrump when partner raises to 1 
of a major suit? Hmm, neither of these are great propositions. Sometimes Bridge 
bidding involves telling the smallest lie – certainly that’s the case here. Perhaps 
some additional information might help in our decision making:  

S A Q 
H K 2 
D A 4 3 2 
C K 5 4 3 2 

Many better players would open this 16 HCP hand as 1 Notrump, simply to avoid 
the rebid problem! (you are not quite strong enough for a 2D reverse) Certainly 
the honors are balanced and three useful stoppers in the doubleton suits help 
provide a barrier. What about this hand?  

S Q 2 
H K 2 
D A 4 3 2 
C A K 4 3 2 

Opening 1 Notrump with this holding is asking for “major” trouble; perhaps 
opening and rebidding Clubs is a better proposition. By the way, did you consider 
opening 1 Diamond, planning to rebid 2 Clubs? True, we prefer to open with our 
longer suit. But desperate times (hands) calls for desperate measures - this can 
work well with hands that beg a rebid by responder. No, if responder bids a major 
suit, opener's 2 Club rebid is not purely forcing simply because we have bid a new 
suit. While responder’s new suit bids are forcing (assuming responder is not a 
passed hand), opener must make a reverse or strong jump shift in order to force 
responder to rebid – see links for details.  

Let’s finish by exploring opener’s jump rebids. So far we’ve mentioned: 

1 Notrump opener = 15-17 HCP 
1 Notrump rebid  = 12-14 HCP 
 
Most who play 15-17 HCP 1 Notrump openers, play: 
2 Notrump opener = 20-21 HCP 

Thus, when opener jumps a bidding level and rebids 2 Notrump, opener is 
committing to a point range between 1 and 2 Notrump, or: 

2 Notrump rebid = 18-19 HCP, and 
3 Notrump rebid = 20-22 points (20-21 not balanced) 

 

 

http://bridgehands.com/R/Reverse.htm


Opener is showing a balanced hand or as we saw earlier, at least telling the 
smallest possible lie! Oops, we do have one exception to the balanced hand rule: 
opener’s 3 Notrump rebid promised game forcing values, not necessarily a 
balanced hand. Of course if opener held a balanced 20-21 HCP hand, opener would 
have initially opened 2 Notrump; remember, "real Bridge players" don't worry 
about opening a worthless doubleton!  

Play Fundamentals  

BridgeHands is happy to announce Marty Bergen just released his latest book, 
“More Declarer Play the Bergen Way.” We thank Marty for allowing us to share 
excerpts from each chapter at our website. Further, Chapter 4 “Life in Notrump” is 
reprinted here (copyrighted).  

Too many players become nervous when considering playing a notrump contract. 
They remember the devastating feeling of going down in 3NT when the opponents 
gleefully cashed the first five tricks.  

As unpleasant as those memories may be, try not to overreact. Marty Sez: 
“Notrump contracts are usually easier to play than suit contracts.  

A notrump contract is essentially a race. Each side hopes to finish first by 
establishing its suit and cashing enough tricks to “win” the hand.  

Playing a suit contract involves more considerations. In addition to deciding 
whether you should work on a short suit or a long suit, you always have to resolve 
the usually crucial but often subtle question:  
Should you or should you not draw trumps first?  

When playing a notrump contract: 
 

• Count your guaranteed, immediate winners. 
• Figure out how many more tricks you need. 
• Select a suit that will provide those tricks. 
• Make sure you have the necessary entries. 
• Decide how to cope with the suit led. 

On your mark, get set, go.  
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Sometimes, the Eight is Enough 
Contract: 3NT, Lead: SQ 
          North 
          S  K 5 
          H  9 7 5 4 2 
          D  A J 2 
          C  J 5 4 
  
          South 
          S  8 6 4 
          H  A 10 
          D  K 8 4 3 
          C  A K Q 9 
 
West   North   East     South 
 --     --      --       1NT 
Pass    2D*    Pass      2H 
Pass    2NT    Pass      3NT 
All Pass  
2D * = transfer to hearts 

North responded with a Jacoby Transfer and then invited game by bidding 2NT. 
You’re concerned about spades, but like your two honors in partner’s heart suit 
and your very strong club suit. You also like the fact that your 16 HCP include no 
jacks!  

Because jacks are the most over-rated honors, you should look favorably 
at worthwhile hands that contain no jacks. Based on a lot more pluses than 
minuses, I agree with your 3NT bid.  

Unfortunately, when West leads the SQ and dummy hits the table, you don’t like 
your chances. With no confidence, you try the SK, but East wins his ace and 
returns the 2S. Hopefully, this card represents some good news. It suggests that 
East started with four spades, which means that you’re not down yet.  

On the third round, you discard dummy’s H2. On the fourth round of spades, you 
discard dummy’s 4 and your own H10. East wins the fourth spade and leads a 
heart to your now-singleton ace.  

Five tricks have been played, and having lost the first four, you need every one of 
the remaining eight tricks. Unfortunately, you have only six sure winners – two 
diamonds and four clubs. Your only hope to make the contract is to win two 
additional diamond tricks  

You lead the D3 and West plays the D9. You finesse the DJ and hold your breath. 
It wins, so you cash the DA and West plays the DQ. Very interesting. That leaves 
the following position:  

           D  2 
  
           D  K 8 



When you lead the 2 from dummy, East follows with the 7. You finesse the 8, and, 
as expected, West shows out. Yessss! You now claim your DK and four club 
winners and score up your game.  

Contract: 3NT, Lead: SQ 
          North 
          S  K 5 
          H  9 7 5 4 2 
          D  A J 2 
          C  J 5 4 
West                East 
S  Q J 10 3         S  A 9 7 2 
H  K J 8            H  Q 9 3 
D  Q 9              D  10 7 6 5 
C  8 7 6 3          C  10 2 
          South 
          S  8 6 4 
          H  A 10 
          D  K 8 4 3 
          C  A K Q 9 
 
West   North   East     South 
 --     --      --       1NT 
Pass    2D*    Pass      2H 
Pass    2NT    Pass      3NT 
All Pass  
2D * = transfer to hearts 

Very important defensive note: You successfully finessed dummy’s DJ and then 
cashed the ace. Suppose West had been dealt the D Q 10 9. At that point, any 
West worth his salt would drop the queen – the card that he was known to hold.  

That mandatory falsecard would create the opportunity for a deep finesse – and 
results in you (or I) going down several tricks.  

Entries – the Name of the Game  

Contract: 3NT, Lead: S7 
          North 
          S  K J 5 
          H  J 10 8 7 3 
          D  6 4 3 
          C  8 3 
 
 
          South 
          S  A 9 6 
          H  Q 9 
          D  A K J 5 
          C  A K 4 2 
 



West   North   East     South 
 --     --      --       2NT 
Pass    3D*    Pass      3H 
Pass    3NT    All Pass 
3D * = transfer to hearts 

Question 1: After West’s fourth-best spade lead, how many spade tricks do you 
have?  

Question 2: What suit (or suits) do you plan to work on to make your contract?  

Question 3: What card will you use to win the opening lead?  

Answer: Time to apply the Rule of 11. Subtracting 7 from 11 equals 4. This tells 
you that there are a total of four cards above the 7 between yourself, dummy, and 
East. You have two cards: the ace and 9. Dummy has two higher cards, the king 
and jack. Therefore, East has no spades above the 7. Winning three spade tricks 
will be easy.  

Question 2: What suit (or suits) do you plan to work on to make your contract?  

Answer: Hearts is the only suit you need to work on. Counting 3 spade tricks, you 
have 7 winners off the top. You need only 2 additional tricks. Fortunately, you 
have all the heart intermediates, so you should be able to win 3 heart tricks while 
losing only 2.  

Question 3: What card will you use to win the opening lead?  

Answer: To ensure two spade entries to North’s hand for later, you must now take 
your SA. When you lead the HQ, East should duck, but you’ll continue hearts and 
drive out a heart honor. East will win and lead the CJ, but you’ll win and take the 
marked spade finesse. Then it’s easy to knock out East’s last heart honor. Once 
you do, dummy will have 2 heart winners and a guaranteed entry in the SK, and 
you’ll win 10 tricks.  

If you had won the first trick with the S9, you’d still have the SA, so you’d have 
only one spade entry to the board. If East is smart enough to duck when you lead 
the HQ, he will cut you off from dummy’s hearts and limit you to one heart trick.  

If you had won the first trick with the S9, you’d still have the SA, so you’d have 
only one spade entry to the board. If East is smart enough to duck when you lead 
the HQ, he will cut you off from dummy’s hearts and limit you to one heart trick. 

 

 

 

 
 



Contract: 3NT, Lead: S7 
          North 
          S  K J 5 
          H  J 10 8 7 3 
          D  6 4 3 
          C  8 3 
West                East 
S  Q 10 8 7           S  4 3 2 
H  5 4                H  A K 6 2 
D  Q 9 8 7            D  10 2 
C  Q 7 5              C  J 10 9 6 
          South 
          S  A 9 6 
          H  Q 9 
          D  A K J 5 
          C  A K 4 2 

Marty Sez: Sometimes, it is not correct to win a trick as cheaply as possible.  

 

Waste Not, Want Not  

Declarer should lead an honor for a finesse only when he will be well-placed if it is 
covered.  

Contract: 3NT, Lead: SQ 
          North 
          S  A 
          H  J 3 2 
          D  7 3 2 
          C  9 7 6 4 3 2 
West                East 
S  Q 10 8 7         S  K J 9 4 
H  8 7 6 5          H  Q 9 
D  J 6              D  10 9 8 5 4 
C  Q J 5            C  K 10 
          South 
          S  6 5 3 2 
          H  A K 10 4 
          D  A K Q 
          C  A 8 

Declarer has seven tricks in top cards, and his only hope is to win two additional 
heart tricks. But if he leads the HJ at trick two, and East covers with the queen, 
South can win only the ace, king, and 10.  

Because he is missing the H9, South must not waste the HJ. Instead, he should 
lead dummy’s H2 and finesse the 10. After that wins, he can cash the HA. When 
the HQ falls, he can lead the H4 to the HJ, and get back to his hand to cash the 
HK.  
   



  

Rule of 5 – The Five Level Belongs to the Opponents  

Counting up the "Rules of," it’s time for the Rule of 5. Back in the mid-1980’s, 
Grant Baze offered an axiom that in most situations it’s not profitable to make a 5 
level bid over the opponents 4 Spade or above bid. Does that mean a pair should 
never overcall above opponents 4 Spade call? No, not at all – in fact, the other 
side might actually belong in slam. Of course, doubling opponents indiscriminate 
high level bid is another possibility. While we won’t be able to get in depth here, 
let’s cover some of the basics associated with these super-competitive high level 
bids.  

First off, it’s unlikely both sides have an even 20 HCP distribution. Typically the 
weaker partnership is pushing the limits of their combined suit length, usually with 
favorable vulnerability and shortness the opponents’ suit. The stronger side usually 
holds game-going or stronger values. Another assumption is that the weaker side 
does not possess significant defensive tricks to set their opponents – this type of 
an unwarranted overbid destined to go down is known as a “phantom sacrifice.” 
  

And what is the difference between offensive and defensive tricks? Well, holding all 
your honors in your sides extra-long suits would be considered offensive tricks, 
likely to result in a quick ruff by the opponents when your side is not the declarer. 
As defenders, we would prefer to hold primary honors, Aces and Kings, in our 
shorter suit. And what about when both sides have a double fit in two suits? Ah, 
here’s a situation where the bidding can get really exciting. Particularly when your 
side holds the “master suit” – Spades and primary honors in the long suits, 
complementary hands like these result in a makeable five-level or perhaps a six-
level contract for each side. 
   

 

  

BridgeHands Back Issues  

If you missed a back issue of a BridgeHands Newcomer-Novice eMag newletters, 
here are the links:  

Issue 0 - Finesses 
Issue 1 - Promotions 
Issue 2 - Notrump Leads 
Issue 3 - Leads Against Suit Contract 
Issue 4 - Trump Power 
Issue 5 - Trumps are wild - Part 1 
Issue 6 - Trumps are wild - Part 2 
Issue 7 - Captaincy 

Regular subscribers receive our eMag Newsletters two months before they are 
indexed and linked on the BridgeHands website, so encourage your friends to 
join our "no strings" subscription by signing up here for your own free subscription. 

 

  We hope you are enjoying the BridgeHands website and eMag Newsletters. As 
always, we look forward to hearing from you with your comments and suggestions.  
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Best wishes, 

 

 
email: support@bridgehands.com  
phone: 707-769-4499  
web: http://www.bridgehands.com  
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