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BD# 11 Brian Glubok 
VUL None ♠ Q T 
DLR South ♥ A Q J 8 4 2 

♦ 7 6 4  

 

♣ 7 3 
Sylvia Caley Simon Kantor 

♠ A J 8 7 5 4 ♠ 6 3 
♥ 7 6 3 ♥ K 9 
♦ K J 9 ♦ Q T 8 5 
♣ Q 

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ T 8 6 5 4 
Connie Goldberg 

♠ K 9 2 
♥ T 5 
♦ A 3 2 
♣ A K J 9 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♥ by North 

   1NT Opening Lead ♠6 
2♦1 Pass 2♥2 Pass Table Result North claimed 4♥ making 5, 

N/S +450 
2♠ 4♥ Pass Pass Director Ruling 4♥ N made 4, N/S +420 

Pass    

 

Committee Ruling 4♥ N made 4, N/S +420 
 
(1) Alerted – single suited major. 
(2) Alerted. 
 
The Facts: The director was called at the point of the claim: 
The play: (Lead underlined) 
 
Trick  East  South  West  North 
1.  ♠6  ♠2  ♠J  ♠Q 
2.  ♣4  ♣A  ♣Q  ♣3 
3.  ♥K  ♥T  ♥6  ♥2  
4.  ♠3  ♠9  ♠A  ♠T 
5.  ♦5  ♠K  ♠4  ♥Q 
 
At this point North claimed the remaining tricks saying, “I’ll throw my losers on 
Dummy’s high black cards.” West immediately objected and called the director. 



 
The Ruling: In accordance with Law 70A and E, the director disallowed the claim and 
awarded one trick to E/W thus adjusting the result to 4♥ by North making four, N/S + 
420 for both sides. 
 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. All four players attended the hearing. 
North said the clock was already on the next round and he always had club finesse in 
reserve in his mind. 
West noted that he might have false-carded with the QT of clubs.  
 
The Decision: Law 70E says you may not play one opponent for a specific card unless 
one opponent has or will show out on normal play or unless it would be irrational to do 
otherwise. The committee thought the declarer would likely have finessed the club ten 
but that the play of the club king would not be irrational. Therefore the committee ruled 
as the director had, setting a score of 4♥ by North making four, N/S plus 420 for both 
sides. 
The committee found that the appeal had merit. 
 
The Committee: Aaron Silverstein (Chair), Mark Feldman, Robb Gordon, Abby Heitner 
and Bob Jones. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Right.  Sorry, North, but if you intend to take a finesse after claiming, state 

it in your line of play.  The finding of merit is generous. 
 
Polisner Who knows what Declarer had in his mind.  He didn’t even make a 

statement about the outstanding trump which could have all been with 
East giving him another loser.  Correct ruling and decision. 

 
Rigal I wish I could give split scores here but I cannot. I cannot imagine giving 

E/W anything other than minus 450 but I may legally be obligated to. 
Since even top experts are allowed to miscount their tricks I’d punish N/S 
by giving them the adjusted score but in my heart I’m not convinced. 

 
Smith I think the committee clearly ruled the right way according to law, but I 

am not so convinced that this appeal had any substantial merit. 
 
Wildavsky I see no merit to the appeal – the ruling seems clear as a matter of law. 
 
Wolff Why does this appeal have merit?  At the very least the declarer should 

say "finessing the nine of clubs." 
  
 


