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BD# 9 4,188 Masterpoints 
VUL E/W ♠ A Q 7 5 
DLR North ♥ 5 

♦ 5  

 

♣ A K Q 8 7 6 4 
1,782 Masterpoints 1, 701 Masterpoints 
♠ K 8 4 ♠ J 9 3 
♥ K J 9 8 7 ♥ T 3 
♦ A J 9 6 4 ♦ K Q 7 2 
♣ Void 

 
 

Fall 2007 
San Francisco, California 

♣ 9 5 3 2 
2,790 Masterpoints 

♠ T 6 2 
♥ A Q 6 4 2 
♦ T 8 3 
♣ J T 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 5♣ by North 

 1♣ Pass 1♥ Opening Lead ♥T 
Pass 1♠ Pass 2♣ 

 

Table Result 5♣, making 5, N/S +400 
Pass 5♣ Pass Pass  Director Ruling 5♣, making 5, N/S +400 
Pass     Committee Ruling 5♣, making 5, N/S +400 
 
The Facts:  Defenders had won two tricks with eight cards remaining and North claimed 
stating “pulling trumps” when West had the lead. The play was as follows: 
1. ♥T  ♥A ♥8 ♥5 
2. ♠2  ♠4 ♠Q ♠3 
3. ♠A  ♠9 ♠6 ♠8 
4. ♠5  ♠J ♠T ♠K 
5. ♦A  ♦5 ♦2 ♦3 
 
The Ruling:  Valid claim poorly worded, since declarer can return to hand with a 
diamond ruff to pick up all four trumps when West shows out. 
 
The Appeal:  With the 4-0 trump split, if  Declarer were to try to return to hand by 
ruffing a Heart after a Heart return at the time which the claim was made, the ♣9 would 
be promoted to a winner for the defense. 
 



The Decision:  The play was as follows:  Heart was led and won in dummy by the ♥A.  
Spade led to the queen followed by the ♠A.  Third spade led won by West’s ♠K followed 
by West’s ♦A.  At this point the claim was made with declarer playing the ♠K to ruff a 
red suit return.  Declarer now stated that she was drawing trumps. 
With the 4-0 trump split, a club to the ♣J and ♣T would leave declarer in dummy needing 
to return to his hand to draw the last two trumps.  Declarer can get back to his hand by 
either ruffing a diamond or a heart.  With the care that declarer had already shown by 
preparing to ruff a fourth spade if necessary, the fact that missing the entire diamond suit 
and no opposition bidding, it would be irrational to return to hand with a heart rather than 
a diamond given that declarer holds a total of six hearts and only 4 diamonds. 
Director’s ruling of 5♣ by North making five, N/S plus 400 was upheld. 
The appeal was found to have merit. 
 
The Panel:  Harry Falk (Reviewer), Terry Lavender and Roger Putnam. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner It would be “rational” for a player with 4,188 master points to not make 

the contract.  Good decision. 
 
Polisner No merit to my mind. Declarer’s careful play thus far clearly demonstrates 

they were not going to go down (even had they ruffed the second heart 
high -- declarer does have AKQJ10 of trumps to cope with 9xxx! 

 
Smith Good decision, and a distasteful appeal.  This was not a “doubtful point”, 

and it would have required worse than “careless or inferior” play by this 
declarer to avoid making 5♣ after the unanticipated 4-0 club split was 
revealed.  I think E/W should have received an AWMW. 

 
Wildavsky Good work all 'round. 
 
Wolff An important ruling on a fairly common situation.  It would be no less 

than irrational for North to return to his hand by ruffing a heart instead of 
the diamond.  I would award one of those AWMWs to E/W for greed 
alone.  It would be hard to imagine E/W thinking that North would 
bamboozle this simple situation and to try and get a windfall from the 
panel deserves some punishment. 

 


