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(1) | Denies four-card major or has five spades.

(2) | Asks if South has five spades.

(3) | Does not have five spades.

The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand. South won the opening
lead with the ace. Declarer led a small diamond toward dummy intending to enter dummy
and finesse East for the king. West admittedly broke tempo. South claimed that West’s
hesitation caused him to play West for a doubleton king.

The Ruling: In accordance with law 73 D and F, it was determined that West had
demonstrable bridge reasons for the break in tempo. Therefore, South took inference
from the hesitation at his own risk. The table result of 3SNT down one, N/S minus 100
was allowed to stand.




The Appeal: Only the declaring side (North and South) was present.

Declarer explained he had planned on ducking a diamond and later finessing. He changed
his mind after his LHO's hesitation. He judged that the only thing his LHO could
legitimately have been thinking about was whether to go up with the diamond king from
Kx. The Committee asked whether E/W were using the Smith Echo and was told that
they were.

Declarer noted that West could know because of the 2NT opening that partner held a
singleton heart, so that Smith would not be relevant.

The Decision: The committee could think of many reasons West might have a problem,
even with his actual holding. While not necessary on this deal, on some hands it would be
right to play the #J and cash the Q. Even if Smith is not in play, West must wonder what
significance East will attach to his card. He eventually played the deuce, consistent with a
suit preference signal for clubs, and it would in fact have cost a trick for his partner to
shift to spades.

The committee saw no evidence that West harbored an intent to deceive. Declarer took an
inference at his own risk. Therefore, the committee upheld the director’s ruling to allow
the table result of 3NT down one, N/S minus 100 to stand.

The appeal had little merit, but the committee did not want to assess an appeal without
merit warning (AWMW) without the opportunity to interview East and West, and in
particular to ask West what he was considering when he hesitated.

The Committee: Adam Wildavsky (Chair), Laurie Kranyak and Bob White.
Commentary:

Goldsmith ~ "The committee saw no evidence that West harbored an intent to
deceive?" Who cares! Law 73 F 2 requires only that a player could have
known that the hesitation might deceive. But, once the appeals committee
(AC) determined that West had an alternative play that made sense (flying
¢J and cashing the ¥Q), the issue of possible knowledge is irrelevant. |
wonder why West didn't say, "I was thinking of winning the trick,"” at the
table.

I think South ought to have realized on the actual layout that West was
probably thinking of playing the J, so I'd go with the AWMW.

Polisner Good ruling and decision. An AWMW should have been issued.

Rigal Another blatant AWMW penalty missed. I’m guessing South is in the top
five of the most regular attendees as an appellant at NABCs (as are N/S in
NABC+ appeal four). Until committees tell people they can’t keep trying
to get something for nothing, they’ll waste our time and theirs on footling
claims like this. We have bred a culture of entitlement and lawyering and
this is the result.



Smith As long as West had a “demonstrable bridge reason” for hesitating, he is
free and clear. The committee found one. N/S should have been assessed
an AWMW.,

Wildavsky 1 still agree with the AC ruling. In retrospect, | think we ought to have
assessed an AWMW.

Wolff OK ruling.



