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BD# 13 Bruce Ferguson 
VUL Both ♠ K J 
DLR North ♥ T 7 6 

♦ Q 8 7 5  

 

♣ A K J 7 
Apolinary Kowalski Piotr Tuszynski 
♠ T 9 7 ♠ A Q 6 5 3 
♥ A 8 ♥ K Q 4 3 
♦ A J 4 3 ♦ K 6 
♣ 8 5 3 2 

 
 

Fall 2007 
San Francisco, CA 

♣ Q 4 
Brenda Keller 

♠ 8 4 2  
♥ J 9 5 2 
♦ T 9 2 
♣ T 9 6 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♠ by W 

 1NT1 2♣2 Pass Opening Lead High ♣ 
2♠3 Pass 3♠ Pass Table Result Made 4, E/W +620 
4♠ Pass Pass Pass Director Ruling 4♠ W, +4, E/W +620 

    

 

Committee Ruling 2♠  W, +4, E/W +170 
 
(1) 14-17 HCP. 
(2) Majors. 
(3) 4-5 seconds before 2♠ bid. 
 
The Facts: The director was called when dummy was displayed. N/S stated that the 
pause was long enough to be noticeable, but did not take issue with the time asserted by 
E/W. 
 
The Ruling: Whether there was a break in tempo (BIT) is debatable. Even if there were a 
BIT, it did not demonstrably suggest bidding 3♠. Therefore, the parameters of law 16 
were not satisfied and the table result of 4♠ by West making four, E/W plus 620 was 
allowed to stand. 



 
The Appeal: E/W did not attend the hearing. 
North stated that he is aware that sometimes a four-five second hesitation is a BIT and 
sometimes not. In this case it was apparent that West was considering other options. 
North said that West had a very good hand for only bidding 2♠, as one might expect 
would be the case for a hesitation and then a minimum strength bid. 
 
The Decision: The director said that the existence of a BIT was debatable (he did not 
make a clear determination) and the committee debated. A pause of four-five seconds is 
often ruled not to be a BIT; but in a fairly routine situation in which a player is tightly 
focused on his hand, a four-five second hesitation is capable of bearing an information 
load. After considerable discussion, the committee decided that West’s hand, North’s 
statement about it being clear that West was thinking about his options, and the 
agreement by the players that West hesitated four-five seconds all contribute to a finding 
that the BIT was unmistakable per law 16.  
West could have been considering whether to: 
1. Pass 2♣, 
2. Bid 2♦, 
3. Bid 2NT, or 
4. Bid 3♠  
as well as the bid he chose. Passing 2♣ is an infrequent choice. The meaning of 2♦ was 
not available to the committee, but it may well not have been available as a natural non-
forcing bid. 2NT is a bid that might be used as a good three-card raise. 3♠ might be used 
for an invitational four-card raise. It is also possible but unlikely that West was choosing 
between majors, but that is a choice a good player usually makes very routinely. The 
most likely alternatives that West was considering were extra-value bids in spades. Since 
the extra-value bids were considerable more likely than the others, the committee found 
that they were demonstrably suggested per law 16. 
The issue of logical alternative(s) (LA) was disposed of summarily since it was clear that 
a pass is a LA. 
Accordingly per law 12 C 2, the committee adjusted the result to 2♠ by West making 
four, E/W plus 170. 
 
The Committee: Doug Doub (Chair), Michael Huston, Chris Moll, Jacob Morgan and 
Eddie Wold. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Good job, appeals committee.  I suspect that in fact, West was thinking of 

bidding 2♦, “you pick your major," planning to correct 2♥ to 2♠ to show a 
mild invitation to game.  That's a pretty common meaning of the sequence, 
and, red at IMPs, I think his hand is a close decision between 2♦ and 2♠. 



 
Polisner The director got it right and the appeals committee (AC) missed it.  The 

director, who had the advantage of discussing the facts with all of the 
players, concluded that  four or five seconds was not an unmistakable BIT 
which is required for Law 16 to apply.  If West had bid in one second, it 
would be too fast so we are down to a two-second window if four seconds 
is a BIT.  However, if it was determined that there was a BIT, I agree with 
the AC that the table result should be adjusted.    

 
Rigal Excellent decision by the appeals committee to overrule what in my 

opinion was a flawed tournament director (TD) ruling. Though it is easy to 
over-generalize, the idea that slow sign-offs generally deliver unbiddable 
extras is one that has come up enough for us all to be familiar with it. Here 
I’m drinking the Kool-Aid. I would have expected the initial TD ruling to 
force E/W to appeal the decision. 

 
Smith  I agree with the committee's rationale and think it's decision was correct. 
 
Wildavsky The tournament director ruling is puzzling. Certainly a slow 2♠ suggests 

that the final contract should be higher -- how could it not? 
The appeals committee got this one right. They might also have noted that 
2♥ may have been available if West had equal length in both majors, and 
if not then 2♥ would be the most frequent choice with equal length since  
it leaves partner room to show extra strength with longer spades at the 
two-level. 

 
Wolff  OK ruling. 
 
 


