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BD# 9 Sam Lev 
VUL E/W ♠ Q J T 
DLR North ♥ T 9 

♦ K J 8 4  

 

♣ K J 5 3 
Marcelo Branco Pinhas Romik 

♠ K 8 7 6 3 ♠ 9 2 
♥ J 5 2 ♥ K 7 3 
♦ A 6 3 ♦ Q 7 
♣ A 7 

 
 

Fall 2007 
San Francisco, CA 

♣ Q T 9 8 6 4 
Jacek Pszczola 

♠ A 5 4 
♥ A Q 8 6 4 
♦ T 9 5 2 
♣ 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 2♠ by W 

 Pass Pass 1♥ Opening Lead ♠Q 
1♠ Dbl 2♣1 Pass Table Result Down 1, N/S +100 
2♦ Pass 2♠ Pass Director Ruling 2♦, dbld by S, +3, N/S +280 

Pass Pass   

 

Committee Ruling 2♠ W or 3♣ E, down 2, N/S +200 
 
(1) Alerted. Asked and explained as transfer to diamonds. 
 
The Facts: The director was called initially after dummy was tabled and again after the 
play of the hand. South said he might have bid 2♦ over 2♣ with the correct information. 
Later, South said his partner might not have led a trump with the correct information. 
East did not correct the explanation prior to the opening lead. 
 
The Ruling: Players who were polled with respect to the lead did not find a different lead 
with the correct information. However, if South bid 2♦, West might have doubled ending 
the auction. Therefore, the score was adjusted to 2♦ doubled by South, making three N/S 
plus 280.  



 
The Appeal: North was the only player who did not attend the hearing. E/W stated that 
on this auction, if South had bid 2♦, double would be card showing, and East would 
always pull the double. E/W agreed that their agreement was that 2♣ showed clubs and 
that there was MI.  
South asserted that North might have led a heart if furnished with the correct information 
before the opening lead.  
 
The Decision: The committee found there was MI. The committee did not consider the 
auction suggested by the director in his ruling as likely. The actual auction as explained 
by E/W suggested East was raising spades and showing diamonds. This made a spade 
lead more likely than with a correct explanation of the auction. Hence, the MI contributed 
to N/S’s choice of opening leads when an alternative heart lead would assure defeating 
the contract by two tricks. 
While down two was possible with ♠Q lead, N/S did nothing egregious in the actual 
defense resulting in down one. The committee thought that if South had bid 2♦, after a 
correct explanation, 3♣ would be a possible E/W contract, which would also be defeated 
by two tricks. 
In accordance, with law 12C2, the committee adjusted the score to N/S plus 200 and E/W 
minus 200 resulting from a contract of 2♠ by West or 3♣ by East. 
The committee admonished E/W about its responsibility to correct MI before the opening 
lead when their side is declaring the hand. 
 
The Committee: Richard Popper (Chair), Mike Kovacich, John Solodar, Riggs Thayer 
and Bob White. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith If East had corrected the MI before the opening lead, it is probable there 

would have been no appeal. Therefore, E/W ought to be assigned a 
procedural penalty (PP) of 1/4 board. 
The appeals committee (AC) did a good job overall, but should have 
mentioned that the unauthorized information (UI) arising from the MI 
didn't cause a problem. 

 
Polisner An adjusted score seems to be in order and the plus 200 for N/S appears to 

be the most likely. 
 
Rigal I like the AC ruling which seems to have covered all of the bases, while 

the tournament director ruling was incomplete and inaccurate. Regardless 
of the minutiae of the decision the approach the AC took was far more 
appropriate -- including the admonishment to East, who should know a lot 
better here. Indeed, close to PP territory. 



 
Smith I think that both the directors' ruling and the committee ruling were 

thorough and well done in this case even though different adjustments 
were made.  The committee had more time and opportunity to interview 
the players about methods (such as the meaning of a possible double by 
West of a 2♦ bid by South), and that understandably led to a different 
adjustment. 

 
 
 
Wildavsky Good work all around. The AC's adjustment may have been a small  

improvement over the tournament director's. 
 
Wolff Good ruling.  South would have bid 2♦ without the convention disruption 

and then what?   Plus 200 is appropriate for N/S. 
 


