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BD# 25 81 Masterpoints 
VUL E/W ♠ J 9 7 2 
DLR North ♥ A Q J 4 

♦ Q 5 2  

 

♣ K 7 
1,214 Masterpoints 266 Masterpoints 
♠ 6 5 4 ♠ K Q T 
♥ K 3 ♥ 7 6 5 
♦ 7 ♦ A J T 9 4 
♣ Q J 8 6 5 3 2 

 
 

Fall 2009 
San Diego, CA 

♣ A 9 
2,707 Masterpoints 

♠ A 8 3 
♥ T 9 8 2 
♦ K 8 6 3 
♣ T 4 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 2♥ by South 

 1♣1 1♦ 1♥ Opening Lead ♦7 
Pass 2♥ Pass Pass Table Result Made 2, N/S + 110 
Pass    Director Ruling 3♣ W made 3, E/W + 110 

    

 

Panel Ruling 2♥ S made 2, N/S + 110 
 
(1) Agreement is could be a doubleton – no Announcement. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after dummy was faced and again after the play of the 
hand. N/S’s agreements were such that a 1♣ opening could be as short as two clubs. A 
“Could be short” Announcement is required for this agreement. Away from the table, 
West said she would bid 3♣ if properly informed.  
 
The Ruling: The director judged that E/W were damaged. The result was changed to 3♣ 
by West making three, E/W + 100 for both sides as the most favorable likely result for 
E/W and the most unfavorable result at all probable  for N/S. Laws 40B4 and 12C1(e).   



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision and were the only players to attend the 
hearing. 
N/S agreed that they had failed to Announce as required. 
E/W were not present at the review as they had left. However, through several telephone 
calls with the West player, the Reviewer established that the set of facts were agreeable to 
all. The West player could not state a reason why a 3♣ bid became more attractive than a 
pass based upon a timely Announcement.  
 
The Decision: Five players in the 800-1,200 masterpoint range were polled giving them 
the West hand and without a proper Announcement. Two would not bid and would not 
bid with an Announcement. Three bid 3♣ and would have done so with an 
Announcement.  
The poll indicated that the choice of passing (not bidding 3♣) was not due to the failure 
to Announce the potential shortness but was due to the tendency of the West to remain 
silent in this type of auction. 
Therefore, the panel determined that there was no damage and reinstated the table result 
of N/S plus 110 for both sides. 
 
The Panel: William Michael (Reviewer), Matt Koltnow and Tom Marsh. 
 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner I disagree with the panel as 3♣ is more attractive with the correct 

information. 
 
Rigal This cannot be right; regardless of what you think E/W are due, N/S’s 

failure to Alert caused them to get their good result. They deserve no 
better than minus 110. Even if E/W get landed with the table result, (and 
I’d be sorely tempted to give them the benefit of the doubt) I think a split 
score must be put in place. 

 
Smith Good methodology by the panel, and I agree with the conclusions that 

flow from it.  I have yet to see a situation where I think it is right to adjust 
a score based on a failure to announce a “could be short” 1♣ opener that 
promises two or more.  However, I do have little sympathy for N/S in not 
announcing it, and I would give them a penalty. 



 
Wildavsky I prefer the director's ruling to the panel's. Whether West could articulate a 

reason or not, it's clear that the fewer clubs North needs the more room 
there is for clubs in East's hand. No poll is necessary to establish this.  

 
Wolff This hand is a "poster child" as to why the Announcement of a possible 

doubleton club by the one club bidder is required.  West should have had 
that Announcement made to him just in case he might want to have bid 3 
clubs natural the second time around.  I strongly favor the score to be 
either minus 110 or minus 130 N/S depending on whether West will 
finesse the club and guess the spade (North may lead a spade rather than 
the trick giving ace of hearts so I would give E/W making 4♣). 

 


