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VUL Both ♠ 8 x 
DLR West ♥ A K Q T x 

♦ 5 4 3 2  

 

♣ T x 
5,005 Masterpoints 5,268 Masterpoints 
♠ A Q x ♠ T 9 x 
♥  ♥ 7 x x 
♦ A K Q J 9 x ♦ T 7 
♣ Q 8 x x 
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♣ A K 5 x x 
760 Masterpoints 

♠ K J x x x 
♥ J 9 x x x 
♦ 8 
♣ J 9 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♥ by North 

1♦ 1♥ Pass 3♥1 Opening Lead ♣A 
Pass Pass Pass  Table Result Down 2, N/S - 200 

    Director Ruling 5♣ E made 7, E/W + 640 
    

 

Panel Ruling 3♥ N down 2, N/S - 200  
 
(1) West asked meaning before passing. Told limit raise. Actual agreement is 

preemptive. 
 
The Facts: As above. Prior to opening lead South said the meaning of 3♥ was 
preemptive. The director was called and offered East the opportunity to change his final 
pass – He declined. Away from the table, West said that if informed that the meaning was 
preemptive, she would have doubled 3♥.  
 
The Ruling: The director judged that with the correct information, West would have 
doubled and E/W would reach 5♣ and make seven.  Therefore, the result was adjusted for 
both sides to E/W plus 640. Law 21B3. 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. All four players and N/S’s teammates 
attended the hearing. 
N/S felt that failure to bid over 3♥, regardless of the meaning given, was what led to any 
damage. 
E/W felt that the explanation of limit made any action over 3♥ less attractive as there 
were fewer values left for partner.  
 
The Decision: A number of players with more than 4,000 masterpoints were polled as to 
action by West over 3♥ described as a limit raise. All made a call – four doubled and one 
bid 4♣. No player polled considered a pass. After they answered the question, all were 
asked if the meaning of the 3♥ bid was relevant to their decision. The answer in all cases 
was “No.” 
Per Law 12C1(b) – “If subsequent to the irregularity, the non-offending side has 
contributed to its own damage by a serious error (unrelated to the infraction) or by a wild 
or gambling action, it does not receive relief in the adjustment for such part of the 
damage as is self-inflicted.” 
The question about the hypothetical meaning of 2♦ in place of 3♥ indicated that West was 
aware of what was really going on at the table. This is also a question that would be 
acceptable during the auction. This, in addition to the peer polling results, constituted to 
the panel that West had made a serious error unrelated to the infraction. Therefore, the 
panel overturned the director’s decision and reinstated the table result, N/S minus 200, 
for both sides. 
 
Note: on further review, well after the ruling had been delivered to the appellants, it was 
thought by all three panel members that the remainder of Law 12C1(b) should have 
applied – “The offending side should be awarded the score that it would have been 
allotted as the consequence of its infraction only.” Therefore, the N/S score should have 
remained as the direct6or ruled, minus 640. It was felt that it was too late to actually 
make this adjustment. The reviewer agreed to tell the appellants that we felt that a two-
way score as above is what the panel should have awarded. 
 
The Panel: Bill Michael (Reviewer), Jay Albright and Tom Marsh. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner I disagree that failure to act over 3♥ is a “serious error” and the non-

offenders should be given quite a bit of latitude in this type of case.  
Certainly acting offensively over 3♥ is more attractive over a pre-emptor 
than a limit raise.  I would have voted for 6♣ making seven for both sides. 

 
 
 
Rigal I’m not sure I knew how 12C1 operated here. I prefer that the offenders 

get landed with minus 640, given that they deserved no better. Regardless 
of whether you agree with the panel they followed the (complex) 
procedure intelligently and applied sensible judgment. A good ruling I 
think.  



 
 
Smith The panel struggled here to rationalize some conflicting issues.  The poll 

indicated that few if any would pass 3♥ even with the correct explanation.  
So the panel did not want to give E/W anything, and only belatedly 
noticed that Law12C1(b) apparently gave it a way to do this.  
Actually, I'm not convinced that passing is bad enough to invoke that law 
anyway.  The ACBL Laws Commission has interpreted it to mean an 
egregious error, not just an average misjudgment.   
So first of all, if it doesn't meet that standard then the panel is bound to 
give NS redress if they adjust the NS score.  But the real problem here, in 
my opinion, is that the panel too quickly resorted to Law 12 (which 
dictates how scores are to be adjusted) before they read carefully enough 
the laws that send them there in the first place.  Law 21B3: “When it is too 
late to change a call and the Director judges that the offending side gained 
an advantage from the irregularity, he awards an adjusted score.”  And 
40B4: “A side that is damaged as a consequence of its opponents' failure 
to provide full disclosure of the meaning of a call or play as these Laws 
require is entitled to rectification through the award of an adjusted score.”  
The poll revealed that E/W were not damaged as a consequence of the 
explanation of 3♥, but instead by West's own quirky judgment.  No need 
to adjust the score at all, so I think the panel got it right the first time when 
it awarded both sides the table result of N/S minus 200. 

 
Wildavsky The panel both improved and worsened the director's ruling. Their 

subsequent reflection was spot on. I'm surprised that they got this wrong. 
Law 12C1(b) is new, but the concept dates back to 1973: 
http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/lws_lan0.htm 
There are a couple of things about the write-up that puzzle me, though 
they don't affect the ruling directly: 
"The question about the hypothetical meaning of 2♦ in place of 3♥ 
indicated that West was aware of what was really going on at the table." 
What question? 
"This is also a question that would be acceptable during the auction." 
I disagree. Once he's told that 3♥ is preemptive, asking about calls not 
made seems like harassment. Such questions may be legal, but they are 
superfluous. 

 
Wolff If it was determined that N/S should have announced that South's 3♥ raise 

was preemptive, then there is no doubt that a two-way score should be 
given.   E/W, by their failure to act should get no better than the actual 
score plus 200 defending 3♥ (What terrible dummy play to go down 2 
instead of 1).  N/S, therefore, should trade their minus 200 for minus 640, 
five clubs or diamonds making seven. 

  
 


