
APPEAL Non NABC+ Two 
Subject Unauthorized Information (UI) 
DIC Tom Whitesides 
Event Tuesday Daylite Open Pairs 
Session First of Two 
Date December 1, 2009 
 

BD# 20 1,757 Masterpoints 
VUL Both ♠ A 7 6 4 
DLR West ♥ J 8 2 

♦ T 9 2  

 

♣ 7 5 4 
3,007 Masterpoints 6,655 masterpoints 
♠ Q 5 ♠ K 2 
♥ 4 3 ♥ T 9 7 6 5 
♦ A Q 8 4 3 ♦ 7 5 
♣ Q J T 2 
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♣ A 9 6 3 
54 Masterpoints 

♠ J T 9 8 3 
♥ A K Q 
♦ K J 6 
♣ K 8 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♠ by North 

1♦ Pass 1♥ 1NT1 Opening Lead ♦7 
Pass 2♠2 Pass 3♠ Table Result Made 3, N/S + 140 
Pass Pass  Pass  Director Ruling 3♣ S down 5, N/S - 500 

    

 

Panel Ruling 3♣ S down 5, N/S - 500 
 
(1) By agreement two-suiter – spades and clubs. Alerted and explained as such. 
(2) On convention card, is a transfer to 3♣ 
 
The Facts: After the play of the hand was completed, the director was called.  3♠ made 
when West covered the ♠J lead from dummy after giving his partner a diamond ruff after 
the ♦7 opening lead.  The director was called after play ended.  N/S’s convention card is 
marked “1N > P > 2S > [transfer to] 3♣.”  N/S recently added Sandwich NT to its 
methods. 
 
The Ruling: The Alert awakened South to the fact that 1NT was not natural.  Since 
North’s 2♠ should have forced South to bid 3♣, the contract was changed to 3♣, which 
would go down five for N/S minus 500. Law 16B3. 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision and all except East attended the 
hearing.   
South said that she forgot they were playing Sandwich.  It never occurred to her that 2♠ 
would be a transfer after the opponents bid two suits.  Had they bid only one suit it would 
have been a transfer.  Even if she had read it correctly, when the transfer was Alerted her 
partner would have taken the contract back to 3♠.  The reviewer explained to her that 
using the Alert of the transfer was disallowed, just as her use of partner’s Alert of her 
1NT was disallowed. 
North wanted to know the Laws used to make the ruling and West had nothing to add. 
 
 
The Decision: North’s Alert of 1NT gave South UI, which led to her 3♠ bid.  Law 
16B1(a) states “After a player makes available to his partner extraneous information that 
may suggest a call or play, as for example by … an unexpected Alert … the partner may 
not choose from logical alternative actions one that could demonstrably have been 
suggested over another by the extraneous information.”  
The panel then considered what North would have done (without UI) after partner 
showed both black suits but took him out of his choice.  Three players with 1400 – 1600 
MPs were asked what they would have done (playing with an inexperienced partner).  All 
three passed.  When asked why, two said they did not know what was going on.  One said 
she thought partner might have overcalled a natural 1NT with long clubs. 
Based on this information the panel decided that Law 16B1(a) had been violated.  Law 
12B1 states: “The objective of a score adjustment is to redress damage to a non-offending 
side and to take away any advantage gained by an offending side through its infraction.” 
Covering the ♠J was an egregious defensive error, but even if E/W defeated 3♠ they 
would not be able to achieve the same result that they would from defending 3♣. 
Given the above the panel judged that the final contract should be 3♣ down five – N/S 
minus 500 and E/W + 500.  The complexity of the case and South’s inexperience led to 
the decision that the appeal had merit. 
 
 
The Panel: Charles MacCracken (Reviewer), Terry Lavender, Jean Molnar and Matt 
Smith. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner A very convoluted set of facts.  Firstly, from the facts given, I disagree 

that the convention card states that 2♠ is a transfer to clubs unless there is 
a note that the system is on after a INT overcall.  If this was behind 
screens South, who is unaware of North’s Alert, would have understood 
North’s 2♠ to be an offer to play 2♠ (assuming that transfers were off as 
2♥ would be a transfer to spades if “system on”).  South would likely pass 
on his 15-18 as it doesn’t look so good with his poorly placed minor suit 
honors.  For me, this case hinges on the finding about whether 2♠ is or is 
not a transfer to clubs on this auction.  If not, table result stands.  If yes, 
ruling and decision are correct. 

 



 
 
Rigal The appeal certainly has merit. Why did South not pass 2♠ I wonder – and 

what would have happened if they had… I’m glad I do not have to decide 
that. Back to business: South’s 3♠ bid was based on UI, so we have to try 
to work out what a normal South would do facing a 1NT call Alerted and 
explained as strong; 3♣ down five seems right. It looks wrong to reward 
E/W this much (I’m sure RW will have comments here!)…but the law is 
the law, even if the law is an ass. 

 
Smith  I still think this case was decided correctly.  Excellent write-up. 
 
Wildavsky 3000 masterpoints ain't what they used to be! I like the decisions. Good 

work realizing that 12C1(b) did not apply. I see no merit to this appeal. 
 
Wolff Since this case was involved only with the impossibility of adjudicating 

convention disruption (CD), there was total confusion of what the 1NT 
overcall meant: 
1. Natural,  
2. Sandwich and whether the responses were or transfers or best suit. 
Rather than pick wings off the poor creature N/S partnership, just severely 
punish N/S up to a full board while at the same time not reward a 
partnership who would cover the Jack of Spades and give them less than 
an average (certainly well deserved).   
Instead N/S never really realized how important it is for them to not create 
CD and E/W never paid any kind of penalty for their egregious defensive 
play.  At the very least there needs to be some kind of education to these 
players!  Just another opportunity lost together with everyone (including 
the directors and the panel) confused. 

  
 
 


