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West North East  South Final Contract 4♠ by South 

  P P Opening Lead ♣T 
P 1♣ P 1♠ Table Result Made 5, NS +650 
P 2♠ P 3♦ Director Ruling 3♠ made 5, +200 NS 
P 3♠1 P 4♠ Panel Ruling 3♠ made 5, +200 NS 
P P P  

 

 
 
(1) Alleged break in tempo by North before his 3♠ bid 
 
The Facts:   East-West alleged that North, at his third turn to bid, immediately 
reached for the bidding box and then pulled his hand back and pondered for at least 20 
seconds before bidding 3♠.  East-West called the Director immediately after South’s 4♠ 
bid and then again at the conclusion of the hand.  At the table, North-South did not 
dispute the above facts to the Director.  After the ruling, North-South contended that the 
break in tempo was ten seconds or less.   
 
The Ruling:   The Director ruled that there was a break in tempo, which caused 
unauthorized information to be available to South.  The unauthorized information 
demonstrably suggested action over inaction to South.  The Director also found that pass 
was a logical alternative to the 4♠ bid selected by South at his final turn to call.  



Therefore, the Director ruled that the score be adjusted to 3♠ making 5 for +200 North-
South according to Laws 73C and 16B. 
The Appeal:  North-South appealed asserting that South made a help suit game 
try in diamonds because he was trying to decide whether to bid 3N or 4♠.  North-South 
claimed that they never planned to stop short of game. 
 
The Decision:  The Panel found that while the amount of the break in tempo was 
disputed, it was clear there was an unmistakable hesitation.  North admitted the break in 
tempo and reported that he was trying to figure out South’s bidding.   
 
   The Panel gave the South hand to six players in the 1500-3000 
point range.  Given the 3♦ bid (most would have bid 4♠ at this turn), four of those polled 
bid 4♠ and two would have honored partner’s bid and passed.  The Panel felt that the 
polling results indicated that pass is a logical alternative to bidding 4♠.  According to 
Laws 16B and 12C1, the result must be adjusted to 3♠ making five for +200 North-South.  
The Panel also ruled that since the majority of those polled bid 4♠, no AWMW was 
given. 
 
The Panel: Bernie Gorkin (Chairman), Bill Michael, and Peter Marcus. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Bramley: No merit.  The choice-of-games argument is not credible.  Note that 
although North should not take too MUCH time, neither can he take too LITTLE time.  
(See Case One.)  At every turn, a bidder must strive to make his call in a tempo that 
suggests he has something to think about, whether or not he does.  Establishing such a 
tempo in the “no-think” positions frees him to use a little extra time in the positions 
where he actually does have a problem. 
 
Goldsmith: No Merit. 
 
Rigal:  Clearly correct decision…but please be aware TD Panel. If your criteria 
for not awarding an AWM is a pooled-player majority, look again at Case 4 and many, 
many others….(By the way I’m shocked four players drove to game but that’s life in the 
non-NABCs, or maybe it puts my game in its proper place.) 
 
 
Wildavsky: The Panel applied the wrong standard for assessing an AWMW. A player 
who intended 3D as a game try would always pass 3S, and we have no way of judging 
whether South intended his bid that way. Given his hand it seems unlikely. Spades will 
take an extra trick much more often than not and opener will not be well placed to judge 
whether this is one of the rare exceptions since he will not be able to picture South's 
singleton. In any case, his actual intent is not relevant. We are not mind readers. Since we 
have no way to be certain we must adjust his score just as we would that of a player who 
had made a game try, when a game try is plausible. Certainly it is here. 
 



Wolff:  Once, South makes what can only be a game try, he is not allowed to 
calibrate EFFECTIVELY his partner's lack of acceptance in order to finalize his decision.  
He must pass and the ruling sent this message. 
 


