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BD# 2 261 Masterpoints 
VUL N/S ♠ A Q J 6 
DLR E ♥ A 9 4 

♦ K Q J T 4  

 

♣ 2 
1,026 Masterpoints 1,614 Masterpoints 
♠ K T 9 8 7 ♠ 4 2 
♥ 2 ♥ Q 8 5 3 
♦ 9 7 5 2 ♦ Void 
♣ Q J 7 
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♣ A K T 6 5 4 3 
3,218 Masterpoints 

♠ 5 3 
♥ K J T 7 6 
♦ A 8 6 3 
♣ 9 8 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4 ♠ Dbl by West 

  1 ♣ 1 ♥ Opening Lead ♣ Ace 
1 ♠ 4 ♥1 Pass Pass 

 

Table Result 4 ♠ Dbld, down 5  N/S +1100
4 ♠ Dbl Pass Pass  Director Ruling 4 ♠ Dbld, down 5  N/S +1100
Pass     Panel Ruling 4 ♠ Dbld, down 5  N/S +1100
 
(1) Explained as “pre-emptive” as per agreement 
 
The Facts: West asked the meaning of the jump to 4♥ at her second turn to bid.  West 
was told “Pre-emptive.”  N/S convention card agrees.  West chose to bid 4♠.  After the 
hand was played East said he would have run to 5 ♣ had he known the nature of North’s 
hand. 
 
The Ruling: No violation of Law 40 – Result stands. 



 
The Appeal: West said she never would have bid 4 ♠ if she knew North could have a 
good hand.  She admitted South could have had a better hand instead.  West confirmed 
her 1♠ bid showed five or more spades.   
East said he would have bid 5 ♣ over 4♠ doubled if he had known that North could have a 
good hand.  When the reviewer mentioned his diamond void and doubleton spade he was 
still adamant he would have bid 5♣. 
North bid 4♥ instead of 2♠ because LHO had opened the bidding and RHO had 
responded, so he gave up on slam and chose not to divulge his hand. 
The N/S convention cards both said jump raises were weak. 
 
The Decision: Based on the matching convention cards and North’s reasonable rationale 
for bidding 4♥, the panel found no basis to conclude N/S had a different understanding 
about the meaning of 4♥. 
Absent misinformation or some other violation of Law the panel had no reason to consider an 
adjusted score.  The panel considered whether the appeal had merit and assigned an appeal 
without merit warning (AWMW) to E/W.  Prior to convening the panel the Reviewer asked 
four of West’s peers what they would have bid at West’s second turn.  All four players passed 
and said they didn’t care what North might have for the 4♥ bid. 
 
The Panel: Gary Zeiger (Reviewer), Bernie Gorkin and Jean Molnar. 
 
Players Consulted: Four players with about 1,000 masterpoints. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner Let’s see now.  West bid 4♠ on air contending that the alleged preemptive 

nature of the 4♥ bid inspired this absurd bid and then wants redress.  An 
AWMW doesn’t seem anywhere near enough to teach this so-called 
bridge player a lesson.  

 
Rigal  Excellent ruling and AWMW; no need to waste trees here – Miserable and 

pettifogging appeal (MAPA) four. 
 
Smith   Good, including the AWMW. 
 
Wildavsky I have no doubt that East would have run had he known the nature 

of North's hand. Unfortunately for East, bridge is played with closed 
cards. No merit.  

 
Wolff  More unbelievable naiveté.  Lack of education is running rampant. 
  
 


