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BD# 2 Cheri Bjerkan 
VUL N/S ♠ 9 7 6 4 3 2 
DLR East ♥ K J 4 

♦   

 

♣ T 6 4 3 
Kevin Bathurst Jenny Wolpert 

♠ 5 ♠ A Q T 
♥ T 9 7 5 ♥ 2 
♦ K T 7 6 ♦ A Q J 8 5 4 
♣ A K Q J 

 
 

Summer 2007 
Nashville, Tennessee 

♣ 8 7 2 
Robert Hampton 

♠ K J 8 
♥ A Q 8 6 3 
♦ 9 3 2 
♣ 9 5 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 6♦ by East 

  1♦ 1♥ Opening Lead ♥A 
3♣1 3♥ 4♥ Dbl Table Result Made 6, E/W + 920 
4♠ Pass 5♦2 Pass Director Ruling 5♦ E making 6, E/W + 420
6♦ Pass Pass Pass 

 

Committee Ruling 6♦ E, making 6, E/W +920
 
(1) Fit showing game invitation. 
(2) An agreed hesitation - break in tempo (BIT). 
 
The Facts: The director was called to the table after the 6♦ bid and was called back to the 
table four rounds later after the comparison. All players at the table agreed that there was 
a BIT by East just before she bid 5♦. 
 
The Ruling: The director determined that the BIT demonstrably suggested the 6♦ bid. 
Pass was determined to be a less successful logical alternative (LA). Therefore, the result 
was adjusted to 5♦ by East making six, E/W plus 420.  



 
The Appeal: East stated that in considering a response to the 4♠ bid she felt that the 
partnership understanding was that a fit showing jump did not establish the first bid suit 
as trump for Roman keycard Blackwood (RKC). East felt that West did not interpret the 
4♥ bid as RKC. East felt that with three small clubs and a singleton heart she did not have 
any extra values to show in addition to her 4♥ cue bid and therefore bid 5♦.  
West felt that the 4♥ bid was a cue bid and could not have been made without two 
controls – one being either the ♥A or ♠A. If East had the ♠A and a void in hearts, West 
was looking to bid 7♦. When East did not bid 5♥ over 4♠, West settled for 6♦. 
N/S felt that the 4♥ bid could have been made without two controls and, therefore, West 
should have passed 5♦, or that passing 5♦ was a LA to bidding 6♦. 
 
The Decision: The committee reviewed the E/W conventions, the auction and the BIT 
carefully. The committee decided that the 4♥ bid would not have been made without two 
controls. It also found that there was an agreed upon BIT and that in accordance with law 
16 the 6♦ bid was demonstrably suggested by the BIT. However, the committee 
determined that pass was not a LA. The committee judged that once East had bid 4♥, the 
E/W pair would not stop short of slam. 
The committee restored the table result of 6♦ by East making six, E/W plus 920.  
 
The Committee: Ed Lazarus (Chair), Abby Heitner and Jim Thurtell. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith The appeals committee really thought that none of West's peers would 

pass 5♦ with those cards?  3NT isn't playable, so 5♦ could win the board.  
I'm sure some would pass.  The director got this right.  Presumably, he did 
a poll. Where are the poll results?  Yes, I know I've often not put much 
stock in polls, but they are expected procedure. 

 
Polisner I agree with the appeal committee’s analysis from West’s perspective.  

The only thing that bothers me is that West should think that East does not 
have the ♠A (failure to bid 3♠) so she must have the ♥A making 6♦ 
routine. 

 
Rigal At an NABC+ event in an NABC I’ll buy into the ruling by the 

committee; I agree that the director made the correct initial ruling though. 
  
Smith  I agree that the hesitation suggested not passing, and it seems to me that it 

gave E/W an advantage in sorting out the auction and arriving at the right 
contract.  But, if the committee judged that once 4♥ was bid EW were 
always getting to slam (and that pass was therefore not a logical 
alternative), then I defer to the committee's bridge judgment.  But, I have 
misgivings. 



Wildavsky A close call. The tournament director's ruling was reasonable, as was the 
appeals committee's. Note that East's testimony is largely irrelevant. We 
don't care why she hesitated; only that she hesitated.  

 
Wolff On the bridge of it, the ruling certainly is correct. Once East cue bid 4♥ as 

either a control bid or Blackwood, West had a slam acceptance.  
Convention disruption (CD) caused the uncertainty it always causes and as 
above E/W were always headed to 6♦.  But the CD possibly caused the 
E/W players, as it usually will, to not be certain, therefore the ruling is 
somewhat suspect.  A Solomonic decision might be to allow 6♦ since they 
were always headed there, but give a small procedural penalty (perhaps a 
1/4 board) which will remind them to clean up their misunderstandings or 
cross conventions off their convention card. 

 
Zeiger   I agree with West's analysis that East had to have at least two controls for 

her bidding.  Committee correct, although this one is close enough that I 
have no real argument with the table ruling being in favor of the non-
offenders. 

  
 
  
 
 
 


