
APPEAL NABC+ ONE 
Subject Failure to Correct Partner’s Misexplanation
DIC Henry Cukoff 
Event Von Zedtwitz Life Master Pairs 
Session First Qualifying 
Date July 18, 2008 
 

BD# 18 Frank Aquila 
VUL N/S ♠ A 9 2 
DLR East ♥ K T 6 

♦ Q 9 5  

 

♣ J T 5 2 
Richard Gross Paul Stern 

♠ K 3 ♠ T 7 6 4 
♥ J 8 7 5 ♥ A Q 9 2 
♦ A K J T 7 ♦ 3 
♣ 8 4 

 
 

Summer 2008 
Las Vegas, NV 

♣ A K 6 3 
Jerome Rolnick 

♠ Q J 8 5 
♥ 4 3 
♦ 8 6 4 2 
♣ Q 9 7 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♥ East 

  1♣  Pass Opening Lead ♥4 
1♦ Pass 1♥ Pass Table Result Made 5, E/W +450 
1♠ Pass 2♠ Pass Director Ruling 4♥ E, made 4, E/W +420 
4♥ Pass Pass Pass 

 

Committee Ruling 4♥ E, made 4, E/W +420 
Procedural Penalty of 1/10 

board to E/W 
 
 
The Facts: The director was called after E/W had left the table. E/W had 4th suit forcing 
on their convention cards. East thought 2♠ over 1♥ would be 4th suit but West thought 1♠ 
was 4th suit. West did not inform N/S that there was a failure to Alert before the opening 
lead was faced. 
 
The Ruling: West had intended his bid of 1♠ to be conventional and artificial. He did not 
inform his opponents of the failure to Alert after the auction and before the opening lead. 
The director judged that had West informed his opponents prior to the opening lead that 
South would be likely to lead a spade. Then director judged that with a spade lead East 
was unlikely to make five. Therefore, in accordance with Laws75D2, 40C and 12C2, the 
result was adjusted for both sides to 4♥ by East making four, E/W plus 420. 
 



The Appeal: N/S and East appeared at the hearing. According to them, E/W left the table 
and N/S called the director before or at the beginning of the next round. E/W were not 
informed until roughly two hours later. E/W did not make a statement to the director until 
then. 
East stated that it seemed unfair that after he had played the hand double-dummy that his 
result was taken away. And, if it took two hours for the director to rule, something must 
be wrong or maybe they weren’t sure. 
 
The Decision: The E/W convention card was marked "4th suit forcing." Absent any 
contrary evidence the committee concluded that the agreement applied to 1♠. 
West’s failure to inform his opponents that there was a failure to Alert was an infraction. 
If West had complied with the law (i.e. announced the failure to Alert), it would have 
been discovered that his 1♠ call was intended to be conventional and artificial. With this 
information, some players would lead a spade  and some would lead a heart. No one  
would lead a spade thinking that 1♠ was natural. Since a spade is more successful than a 
heart, N/S were damaged. An adjustment was in order. Therefore, the committee upheld 
the director’s adjustment for both sides of 4♥ by East making four, E/W plus 420. 
The more difficult decision was whether or not to award an appeal without merit warning 
(AWMW). On the face of it, the Laws and bridge judgment are clear enough that this 
case itself has no merit. However, it occurred during the first round and a movement 
snafu had the directors rather busy. As a result, E/W never heard that the director was 
called or that there was a ruling until near the end of the session. This lack of 
communication made E/W unclear that this was a fairly simple ruling of law and made 
the whole thing seem unfair. Had there been timely notification and communication, the 
committee would have decided that there was no merit to the appeal. 
The infraction by West, however, was blatant and unacceptable for a player of West’s 
experience. The committee felt that it wanted to impress upon West his obligation to 
speak up in the future and, therefore, awarded a token procedural penalty (PP) of 1/10 of 
a board. Law 90 encourages directors and committees to award a PP for errors in 
procedure that require adjusted scores to be awarded.  
 
The Committee: Jeff Goldsmith (Chair), Jerry Gaer, Abby Heitner, Riggs Thayer and 
Jon Wittes. 
 


