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BD# 30 Craig Huston 
VUL None ♠ J 8 7 4 3 
DLR East ♥ Q T 

♦ J 7 6 5 3  

 

♣ 3 
Jeff Smith David Sabourin 

♠ A Q 9 ♠ K 6 2 
♥ K J 9 8 6 ♥ A 5 4 3 
♦ 9 ♦ 8 4 
♣ A K 8 2 

 
 

Spring 2008 
Detroit, MI 

♣ Q J 5 4 
Ed Freeman 

♠ T 5 
♥ 7 2 
♦ A K Q T 2 
♣ T 9 7 6 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 1♥ by S 

  1♣1 1♥2 Opening Lead ♥6 
Pass Pass Pass  Table Result Down 6, N/S -300 

    Director Ruling 6♥ W making 6, E/W +980 
    

 

Committee Ruling 4♥ W making 6, E/W +480 
 
(1) Polish Club (10-12 balanced, 12+ club length or strong artificial). 
(2) Not Alerted but agreement is either spades or both minors. 
 
The Facts: The director was called at the end of the auction. The correct meaning of the 
1♥ call was disclosed. The director offered East the opportunity to change his call based 
on the correct information. East declined.  West, away from the table, told the director 
that he [passed because he, Editor] expected a reopening double and possibly a redouble 
by South.  
 
The Ruling: The director judged that E/W were damaged by the failure to Alert at the 
proper time. The director considered that a possible auction of: 1♣ - 1♥ -  2♥    - P 
              3♥-  P   -  4NT - P 
              5♦ -  P  -   6♥ 
Therefore, in accordance with laws 21, 40 C and 12 C 2, the score was adjusted to 6♥ by 
West making six, E/W plus 980. 



 
The Appeal: Only N/S were present. East, West and South were at the table before 
North. It was established that E/W were playing Polish Club or a variant thereof, which 
the appeals committee (AC) established with the help of the director does NOT require a 
pre-Alert. South decided that this meant his side would be playing their defense to a 
strong or artificial club but did not tell his partner. 
 
 
The Decision: On the above the AC established that we were dealing with a 
misexplanation not a misbid. South had been derelict in his duty in not discussing his 
methods before the match started. 
It was also determined that West had no reason other than to pass and await 
developments; East had had a second bite at the cherry when he established the true state 
of affairs. The AC determined that there was a strong case for a reopening double to cater 
for the near-certainty that West had a penalty double of hearts; but that East had not 
stopped playing bridge when he failed to make that call. 
Once this was established, the AC had to reopen the auction to see what might happen 
had there been proper and timely Alerts. West would surely have bid 2♥ (assumed natural 
and forcing although many Polish partnerships play 2♥ non-forcing - since E/W were not 
present it seemed unreasonable to assume this pair would treat 2♥ as non-forcing).  
The auction would go 1C (1♥) 2♥ Pass** 
                                   3♥ Pass ?? 
West, facing what we know is a possible minimum HCP of 10, would not drive to slam, 
and any cue-bidding auction would see East signing off at every turn. To presume E/W 
would misbid via Blackwood so as to guess to reach a slam off a key-card and the trump 
queen was being unduly charitable to the non-offenders. 
The possibility of a split ruling, to give N/S minus 980 and E/W plus 480 and average the 
results was not seriously considered. 
The committee adjusted the result to 4♥ by West making six, for both sides, E/W plus 
480 and N/S minus 480. 
 
** (In real life North would never pass if he remembered the methods -- bouncing to 4♠ 
would make the E/W task far more difficult. 
 
 
The Committee: Barry Rigal (Chair), Tom Carmichael, Fred King, Mike Kovacich and 
Chris Moll. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith The committee's ruling seems right on target. To judge that reaching 6♥ is 

at all probable seems like a major stretch to me.  Nice work. 
 
Polisner Certainly the MI caused damage and the decision to alter the director’s 

adjustment is a decision that getting to 6♥ was not at all likely. 
 



Rigal I’m not sure how much it was appropriate to penalize N/S here. A split 
ruling giving them the slam, but not awarding it to E/W would certainly 
have been possible. 

 
Smith I won't second guess the committee's judgment on the likelihood of E/W 

arriving in slam.  I am glad that the committee did not seriously consider a 
split score and average it since that would have been an illegal ruling.  
Had the committee decided to award a split score, there is no reason in law 
that the result would have to be averaged (law 86B).  Averaging is 
necessary in knockout play, but not at any other form of scoring (Swiss 
teams included).   
And by the way, the fact that North might have made an obstructive bid 
had he remembered his methods is irrelevant, and I hope the committee 
did not allow itself to be influenced by that.  E/W are entitled to know 
what South's bid meant even while North continued to forget.  North is 
allowed information from the legal auction but nothing else, and the 
possibility of a  2♥ bid on his right would not necessarily wake him up to 
what was happening. 
 

Wildavsky The director ruling was reasonable, and the committee ruling improved 
upon it. The "In real life" comment at the end of the write-up is not 
relevant. E/W are entitled to know the actual N/S agreement whether or 
not North knows it himself. 

Wolff Convention disruption (CD) again!  I tend to agree with the committee that 
480 is much fairer than 980.  Again if this committee, tournament director 
and all in the bridge world continue to be happy with what CD brings, far 
be it from me to disallow this travesty.  I realize I am wasting my breath as 
no one seems to be the slightest bit interested in correcting anything, even 
as horrible as CD has always been. 

  

 
 
 


