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West North East  South Final Contract 2♦ doubled by W 

  Pass Pass Opening Lead ♥ 
2♦ Pass1 Pass Dbl Table Result Down 1, E/W -200 

Pass Pass Pass  Director Ruling 2♦ dbld W, down 1, E/W -200 
    

 

Committee Ruling 2♦ W, down 1, E/W -100 
 
(1) North asked questions about 2♦, which was not Alerted. Some hesitation but not 

more than ten seconds. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand. The director determined 
that there was no unmistakable break in tempo or inappropriate hesitation. 
 
The Ruling: There was no unmistakable hesitation; however, even if it was determined 
that there was one, authorized information gave South inferences she needed. The table 
result of 2♦ doubled by West, down 1, E/W minus 200 was allowed to stand. 
 
The Appeal: E/W thought that pass was a clear choice with the South hand and that not 
many players would balance with 3-2 in the minors. N/S did not appear. 



 
The Decision: In the preview of the case, all five members of the hearing committee 
passed with the South hand. The committee judged that, in accordance with law 16 A, the 
questions by North made UI available to South even if there was no unmistakable 
hesitation. The committee judged that pass was a logical alternative (LA) and that the 
questioning demonstrably suggested the call taken by South (double). 
The committee awarded an adjusted score of 2♦, not doubled, down one, E/W –100. 
 
The Committee: Aaron Silverstein (Chair), Jacob Morgan, Barry Rigal, Jeff Roman and 
Michael White. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith I want to know what the "questions" were.  If it went "please explain 2♦," 

"natural, weak," ten-second pause, pass, then there's no UI.  If everyone at 
the table knew North had a problem, then there is UI.  Given that North 
didn't, in fact, have a problem, without more evidence that there was UI, 
I'd rule that there isn't. Add in that the director thought there was no UI---
from here, I'll guess that there wasn't.  The only clue that there might have 
been is the light double, but with both majors, favorable vulnerability, 
partner's being marked with some high cards, partner's being able to bid 
either major at the two-level, and matchpoint conditions, that doesn't seem 
all that far-fetched.   
If one judges that there was UI, then does it demonstrably suggest 
reopening?  That's a complicated question, but upon reflection, I think the 
answer is yes.   
If a committee disagrees with my findings on the UI, then they must 
adjust---pass is clearly a LA. 

 
Polisner I don’t object to the decision, but I would have liked to know exactly what 

questions were asked by North. 
 
Rigal I was on the committee for this decision, and the initial view that the south 

cards were a clear-cut pass meant that unless it could be determined that 
there was no hesitation or BIT by North, there was going to be a score 
adjustment. We determined that North’s behavior in the circumstances 
constituted UI to South; I’m happy with that decision. 

 
Smith The directors should have polled some players before making this ruling.  

Clearly the committee corrected an erroneous ruling here. 



 
Wildavsky I don't understand why the director ruled the way he did in either part of 

his decision. Certainly the question made UI available, and that UI 
demonstrably suggested acting. Perhaps the director extrapolated from 
NABC+ case one, which had appeared in the daily bulletin by the time 
this case came up. Such extrapolation is not justified here, but this is 
something committees ought to keep in mind. In close cases we should 
consider the message our decision will send. 
How is this case different from case 1? 
The main difference is that here the UI clearly suggested acting. One sign 
of this is that action chosen at the table led to a theoretically better 
outcome -- in NABC+ case one the action chosen would have led to a 
worse outcome had the opponents not acted. This is not a definitive 
argument -- we don't decide such cases based on the actual lie of the cards. 
The lie of the cards, though, can be instructive since it is an instance at 
least as likely as any other. 
Another difference is that the call chosen here was more flexible, catering 
to both offense and defense, either of which could have been suggested by 
the UI. 

 

 

Wolff I agree with the committee decision.  Having said that, I wonder why the 
reasoning on this hand wasn't the same as it was on NABC+ case number 
one where it is obvious because of the bidding that North had somewhere 
between 11 and 15 HCP's.  Perhaps the reasoning of the NABC+ case 
number one committee is not what we should use as a basis for our 
decision, but rather upon what this committee based their decision, 
whether either a BIT or something just as telltale had happened. 
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