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BD# 20 Garey Hayden 
VUL Both ♠ 9 7 3 
DLR West ♥ Q T 8 6 4 

♦ 9 7 4 3  

 

♣ T 
Henry Shevitz Rick Kaye 

♠ J T ♠ A K Q 6 5 
♥ A 5 3 ♥ J 7 2 
♦ T 5 ♦ J 6 2 
♣ K J 9 6 3 2 

 
 

Spring 2008 
Detroit, MI 

♣ Q 7 
Tony Kasday 

♠ 8 4 2 
♥ K 9 
♦ A K Q 8 
♣ A 8 5 4 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♣ by W 
Pass Pass 1♠ 2♦ Opening Lead ♦4 
3♣ Pass Pass Pass Table Result Down 2, E/W -200 

    Director Ruling 3♣ by W, making 4, E/W 130 
    

 

Committee Ruling 3♣ by W, making 4, E/W 130 
 
Material play of the hand: 
♦4 ♦2 ♦Q ♦5 
♦A ♦T ♦3 ♦6 
♥K ♥5 ♥8 ♥2 
♥9 ♥3 ♥Q ♥7 
♥6 ♥J ♣4 ♥A 
 
The Facts: The director was called at the end of the hand.  North played out of tempo to 
the second diamond. According to North the break in tempo (BIT) was not “long, long.” 
N/S play 3rd and 5th best leads versus suit contracts. 



 
The Ruling: The director determined that: 
1. There was a BIT. 
2. South chose from among logical alternative (LA) actions one that could demonstrably 

have been suggested over another by the BIT, which resulted in damage. 
3. Therefore, the result was adjusted to 3♣ by West making four, E/W plus 130. 
 
The Appeal: Present at the hearing were North, South and West.  
South knew that West had at most three hearts from his failure to make a negative 
double. Additionally, if West was 6-4 in the minors with the ace and queen of hearts and 
king and jack of clubs, he might have opened the bidding. Thus, it was quite likely that 
North held the ♥Q and a shift to the king of hearts would, at worst, break even. 
E/W argued that West could easily have the ♥AQ in which case N/S would lose their 
diamond trick if South played the ♥K at trick three. North’s BIT before playing the ♦3 
told South that he started with four diamonds in which case playing a third round of 
diamonds would not be successful. 
North claimed that he took 2-3 seconds to play the ♦3. He was quite surprised when West 
followed to the second round of diamonds. He did a quick recount of the diamond suit 
and, realizing that, if he played the 7 or 9 of diamonds, South would surely continue, he 
played the three. E/W estimated the time that North took to play the three at 7-8 seconds. 
 
The Decision: The committee determined that a BIT took place before North played the 
♦3. The UI that South had from the BIT demonstrably suggested that a heart shift was 
more likely to be successful than a diamond continuation. Since a diamond continuation 
was a LA to the ♥K, the committee upheld the director’s decision to disallow the play of 
the ♥K and to adjust the score to 3♣ by West making four, E/W plus 130 as the result that 
would have been achieved there been a third diamond played. 
The committee discussed the merit of the appeal and decided that there were enough 
factors to process so as to allow N/S to avoid an appeal without merit warning (AWMW). 
 
The Committee: Doug Doub (Chair), Dick Budd, Ellen Kent, Jeff Meckstroth and Jim 
Thurtell. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith  I don't buy that the case had merit, but good work otherwise. 
 
Polisner I agree.  When playing with a client, the pro needs to take special care not 

to “give the show away” which is what North did by his BIT.  It also looks 
like North helped South with his reason for shifting to the ♥K for the 
appeals committee (AC). 

 
Rigal Excellent decision. No merit to the appeal. North convicted himself out of 

his own mouth, when he said he was thinking about how to get South to 
shift. Well, he found the way! 

 
Smith A thorough job by the directors and the committee.  Perhaps it was 

generous not to award an AWMW. 



 

 
Wildavsky North's testimony was useful, though perhaps not in the way he expected. 

He confirmed that be broke tempo, thereby making UI available. The 
reasons for his doing so are not relevant. 
The AC used a blind preview in this case and it proved effective. When 
given as a defensive problem, with just the authorized information, most 
of the AC members quickly continued with a third high diamond. 
Kudos to the director and AC for a sound decision in an unusual situation. 
Kudos also to E/W for realizing that they might have been damaged and 
allowing the director to assess the situation. 
I see little merit to the appeal, but I don't fault the committee for failing to 
assess an AWMW. 

Wolff Much closer than NABC+ case number one. The result should stand E/W 
minus 200, N/S plus 200, but a two MP procedural penalty (PP) penalty 
for possible UI resulting from the slow play of the ♦3.  The difference in 
the penalty is a calibration of the severity of the hesitation. 

  
 


