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West | North | East | South Final Contract 6¢ by East
1¢ | Pass Opening Lead a5
2& | Pass | 24 | Pass Table Result Making 7, E/W +1390
2% | Pass | 2NT | Pass Director Ruling 3NT E, making 7, E/W +720
3¢ | Pass | 34 | Pass Committee Ruling | 3NT E, making 7, E/W +720
3NT! | Pass | 4¢° | Pass
4NT | Pass 64 Pass
Pass | Pass

(1) | Alleged break in tempo (BIT) — N/S said 10 seconds, E/W 6 or 7 seconds.

(2) | Roman Keycard Blackwood for diamonds.

The Facts: South called the director after the auction and again after the play of the hand.
Initially the table director had thought that E/W had denied a BIT; however, the screening
director determined that E/W thought the BIT was as above. The director determined that
an unmistakable hesitation had occurred due to the statements by N/S and West's hand.

The Ruling: The director judged that the BIT demonstrably suggested bidding. He polled
six players as to their action over 3NT with the East hand. Four passed and two bid on.
Therefore, the director judged that pass was a logical alternative. In accordance with
Laws 16B1 and 12Cl1(e), the result for both sides was adjusted to 3NT by East, making

seven, E/W plus 720.




The Appeal: E/W appealed the director’s ruling. All four players attended the hearing.
Notwithstanding the appeal form, West allowed that 3NT might have taken 2-4 seconds
more than the rest of his bids, since he did have alternatives to consider. He said that 34
and similar calls usually showed concentration of strength for notrump purposes, opposite
which he had no matchpoint interest in minor suit contracts. East said that over 34 he
had huge slam potential and never intended to play in 3NT. He said he rejected an
immediate keycard 44 over 34 because he hoped partner would be able to bid 44 over 34,
eventually finding out about all of East's controls and the queen of diamonds. Once West
didn't take charge over 34, East felt it was time someone bid keycard but he was no
longer interested in seven over West's supposed lack of interest.

The Decision: The committee found there was an unmistakable hesitation relative to the
tempo of the earlier auction. It also found that the hesitation demonstrably suggested not
passing 3NT and that passing 3NT was a logical alternative to bidding on, thereby
upholding the adjustment to 3NT by East, making seven, E/W plus 720. In doing so, the
committee felt that East might have intended 34 as asking for a singleton spade honor so
that West's 3NT could have shown K, Jxxx, Axx, AKxxx, making slam no bargain.
There was also some sentiment that East's first two calls were not optimal so that there
was no reason for him to be alive to the possibility of slam other than the suggestion of
the hesitation. The committee did not disbelieve East's reasoning for bidding 34 but
found it irrelevant in light of the UI created by the hesitation.

The appeal was determined to have substantial merit.

Dissent (Ron Gerard): In my opinion, passing 3NT was not a logical alternative (LA) to
bidding on. To bid 34 asking specifically for the singleton king of spades was fatuous
since West would also bid it with singleton queen in case East's spade holding were KJx
or K10x. Do any pairs have that specific an agreement about bids opposite marked
shortness rather than the standard meaning of "I have a maximum holding for my
previous auction knowing you are short?" Furthermore, why would West go out of his
way to bid around his singleton king with the hand the committee cited as a reason for
passing 3NT? No, East's 34 had to be a prepared slam try, not some quixotic inquiry
about a 12-1 shot.

To penalize East for his 14 and 24 calls shows lack of proper appeals temperament.
Opening INT or rebidding 2NT may be clear to your way of thinking, but holding that
anything else is so irrational that you forfeit your right to later intelligent action does not
belong in the committee room. East had reasons for each of his calls and was under no
restrictions when he bid 34 as a slam try rather than that ridiculous "notrump help" thing
the committee foisted on him.

Finally, I disagree with the polling procedure that established pass as a LA. The
director poll resulted in four passes and two bids. The committee was given a blind poll
prior to the hearing and two members said they would pass 3NT while I would have cut
my tongue out rather than do that, not knowing the hand (x, xxxx, Axx, AKQxx and
Bob's your uncle in 7¢4). The problem with the director poll is that it is done on the fly,
without benefit of insight from the principals. The problem with the blind poll is that
members answer in two seconds flat, then spend the rest of the hearing justifying their
opinion when they didn't give due consideration to the auction. I defy anyone to support
passing 3NT without creating a contortionist meaning for 34. And please don't hurl up
accusations of bridge lawyering; it doesn't take a bridge lawyer to realize the value of that
East hand when West goes out of his way to paint with pastels.



The Committee: Ron Gerard (Chair), Lynn Deas, Mike Kovacich, Richard Popper and
Eddie Wold.

Commentary:

Goldsmith  I'm with the dissent some of the way, but not with the ruling. Ron's right
about the poll, but I think the flaw is that unless a player agreed with
East's early bidding, he's thinking, "I should have opened INT," which is a
strong subconscious push in the direction of passing 3NT. Moreover, if a
player would not have bid 34, how can he be asked what he'd do here?
Maybe it would have been useful to give the problem to players on the
previous round and ask them for a plan. If very few would stop in 3NT
then, then they should not be stopping now.

On this hand, however, East's bidding is inconsistent. If 34 was an
advance cue, looking for partner's help to reach a slam, how can he take
complete captaincy on the next round after partner made the most
discouraging bid? He can't without UI. If East had continued his plan
with 4%, making a slam try, then he'd get to keep his good result. Just
taking control, however, indicates that either 34 was not an advance cue or
he failed to avoid carefully taking advantage of U, and is not allowed to
do so. In other words, if East, without UI, thought his hand was worth key
card now, he would have bid 44 on the previous round. Therefore, he took
advantage of UI. The director's and committee's rulings are correct.

Polisner When Ron Gerard agrees with the player who had potential Ul, we all
should sit up and take notice, as he is way on the far right normally in
cases of UL. When I was given this hand, I felt that it was inconceivable to
pass 3NT. In fact, I said that if [ had only one bid to make between pass
and 7¢, I would select the latter.

If the appeals committee (AC) was even discussing the merit of not having
opened INT or rebidding 2NT with the East hand, it needs some education
about what an AC is supposed to consider. It is not to critique the bidding,
but to make decisions about the issues regarding irregularities and
infractions.

As you will see in my comments to NABC+ ONE, I am critical of how
the directors take polls and wonder if they do it just because they are
supposed to do so.

Clearly East knew that West had at most one spade and a very good hand
by failing to bid 34 (assuming that 24 was game forcing - was that true?).
Just read Ron’s dissent as it more articulately expresses my views.

Rigal I'm torn here. East's decision to bid on over 34 does look sensible, but the
tempo break if there was one, does point in that direction. Notwithstanding
my respect for Gerard's arguments, I might well have bought into the
committee decision. I'm not sure this is the time or place to argue the
procedure --so I won't.



Smith

Wildavsky

Wolff

This seems to be the kind of case where a logical alternative is in the eye
of the beholder. Maybe pass really is not a logical alternative to this
particular West. The dissenter's argument certainly bolsters that claim.

As a director, | have run into this kind of firmly held disagreement on
whether a call is a logical alternative depending on who you talk to mostly
as it applies to balancing decisions by opener. For example, 19 — 2& — P —
P - ? Some believe that reopening with a double is mandatory with
virtually any hand short in clubs, while others believe just as strongly that
you need more values than just short clubs to reopen with a double. So
yes, as the dissenter states it does point out a flaw in the polling system.
But realistically, how could the directors poll any differently? And even if
they could, would it matter? The dissenter, despite possessing legendary
powers of persuasion himself, was unable to convince his colleagues of his
position. Maybe this really is one of those cases where one side will never
convince the other side. So as the law is currently written, I think the
directors and the committee did the right thing. Pass was found correctly
to be a logical alternative according to the only standard we have.

I don't understand East's argument about bidding 34 instead of
Blackwood. It seems to me that if he discovers his side has all the
keycards he can ask for kings and West will know as much as if West had
himself bid Blackwood.

I have sympathy for the dissent, but I agree with the director and
committee rulings. I see no reason West couldn't hold a hand like

K/ KQxx/xxx/AKTxx.

I agree with Ron Gerard's well thought out dissent. As an aside a
deliberate 3NT is not nearly as bad as a fast 3NT which would be much
worse. This certainly was a high-level committee, but I don't like their
decision.



